How Hot Is It?

  Slice of Life2

It’s funny how sometimes ideas hit like a lightning bolt and then you can’t wait to write them down! This morning I was struggling to find an idea for today’s slice, then I opened the door and all I could think about was how hot it was already! Stepping from the cool air conditioning to the outside made me feel like I was standing in front of a blazing bonfire.

I had recently been talking with Lynne about a writing activity we often do with kids to help them think outside the box and avoid clichés when writing similes. We encourage them to make lists – lists of things that are quiet, or white, or cold, or still (Jane Yolen’s Owl Moon is often a go-to mentor text, can you tell?). It is a good way to help writers imagine possibilities and keep their writing fresh.

So, I challenged myself to list ten really hot things:

a blazing bonfire

afternoon beach sand

a sizzling grill

the engine of an overheating car

leather car seats on a sweltering day

air from a blow dryer

the barrel of a curling iron

the filling in a freshly baked pie

an attic in July

a cup of steaming coffee

Just thinking of all those hot things is making me feel hotter! Maybe I should switch to cold things.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to How Hot Is It?

  1. arjeha says:

    Really like this activity Rose. I know what you mean by hot. I went out for the mail and couldn’t wait to get back inside to the AC. I guess we are spoiled.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ready for this hot weather to be done!!! Love this activity! I love Owl Moon! Thanks for sharing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. newtreemom says:

    Here’s mine from a recent hot day: sunglasses left on the dashboard! We have a bit of a break today- high is only expected to be 87.

    Like

  4. I love Owl Moon! I like this activity. I am going to try it myself and use it in the future with students.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. wahooteacher says:

    I definitely want to do this activity with my students! Thank you for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Raivenne says:

    Oh my, that is an impressive list of heat. Add in a menopausal woman having a hot flash and it would be complete – not that I would know anything about that. Great activity.

    Like

  7. elsie says:

    Whew! Those things made me hot too! I think you need to save this list for a day in January.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Ramona says:

    Oh my, add a metal doorknob on a door that faces west. We were visiting friends in ID and I thought she should hang a potholder on the doorknob!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. franmcveigh says:

    LOVE this, Rose!

    The cheese on the top of the freshly baked pizza – ouch as it burns the roof of my mouth!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. cvarsalona says:

    Lots of heated talk lately as the temperature continues to sizzle, makes me hot thinking about it, Rose. I like your writing activity and hope a slice of your poem makes it to my Summerscapes gallery. The invitation was sent out.

    Like

  11. rosecappelli says:

    Thanks, Carol. I’ll work on a summer poem!

    Like

  12. Ugh, it’s been steamy here in MN, too. What a great way to help our kids think beyond the same old cliches and phrases they use in writing. I’m stealing this idea. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment