Sometimes Things Don’t Go As Planned

Slice of Life2

Last night I went through the usual tasks to get dinner ready. I gathered the ingredients I would need to assemble the meatloaf, then went to the garden for the last few tomatoes and a sprig of fresh basil. Back in the kitchen I mixed the meatloaf and set it on the counter while the oven finished warming. Then I prepared the fresh tomato and onion salad, set the table and the timer, and busied myself with other things. After about a half hour or so (yes, it took that long!), I started to wonder why delicious smells weren’t tantalizing my taste buds. I soon discovered that…I forgot to put the meat in the oven!

Why Dinner Will Be Late

I remembered to

chop the vegetables,

mince the garlic,

heat the olive oil.

I remembered to

mix in the bread crumbs,

separate the egg white,

add a touch of Dijon.

I remembered to

gather the tomatoes,

break off the basil,

blend the oil and vinegar.

Why weren’t delicious smells…

tantalizing my taste buds,

waking my salivary glands,

building my anticipation?

I forgot to

put the meat in the oven!!!

Honey

open the wine,

grab some appetizers,

dinner will be late tonight!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sometimes Things Don’t Go As Planned

  1. newtreemom says:

    Sounds worth waiting for…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. arjeha says:

    Dinner wasn’t late. It was served at an elegant hour at a place where it is hard to get reservations. 🙂

    Like

  3. franmcveigh says:

    It was perfect timing . . . you could leisurely enjoy the aroma and your wine simultaneously!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

