The Cyclical Nature of Things

Slice of Life2

Old notebooks. They line a shelf on my desk holding ideas, thoughts, seeds of a story. They wait patiently for me to open their pages and find a word or phrase that will spark something new. Sometimes there are surprises, like the other day when I was searching for an entry I could use in a demonstration lesson. I opened the notebook that has been a source of inspiration in the past, the one with the blue suede cover, and out fell a newspaper clipping from October of 2002. It was an article from the food section of the Philadelphia Inquirer. I remember being so impressed by the beautiful language of the author that I was compelled to save it. Here are the lines that grabbed me back in 2002 and once again last week:

It is an awkward, conflicted moment – football’s thunder drowning the final gasp of professional baseball – when backyard tomatoes seem to have overstayed their welcome, elbowed by the rush of early pumpkins, and beets, and a new crop of apples.

-Rick Nichols, Philadelphia Inquirer Columnist

It’s a beautiful description of fall and got me thinking of how difficult it is, sometimes, to transition to a new season, especially summer to fall. It’s been unseasonably warm here in PA, but last week the temperatures dropped just enough that I felt compelled to exchange my shorts and tees for warm sweaters and boots. I made soup. I bought a cookbook of pumpkin recipes, because of course everything is pumpkin in the fall. On the trail I began to notice the subtle changes – the yellows of goldenrod taking over the purple forget-me-nots, the glistening spider webs just out of touch, the furry caterpillars making their way across the path.

The weather has been making up its mind. Mornings are edged with chill. Afternoons can be sagging and sticky, then brilliant, crystalline…

 Yesterday was that kind of day – the kind of day that reminds me that change is in the air. Soon the leaves will go from green to gold and red and orange, the chrysanthemums will take over the garden, and it will be fall. And someday, I will reread this entry in an old notebook (or folder on my computer), and it will spark another idea. It’s the cyclical nature of things.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Cyclical Nature of Things

  1. Adrienne says:

    I love the change. Fall has always been my favorite season. I also transitioned from shorts to pants this week and ma faced with the dilemma of when to turn on the heat.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rita K. says:

    I believe Fall’s changes are more dramatic than any other season. Thanks for sharing both the article and your own beautiful language about transitioning to this season.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. arjeha says:

    Isn’t wonderful when we find a hidden treasure in an old notebook? And just think, today’s writing gem will become a treasure at a later date.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Important reminders here Rose. Growing new ideas and perspectives from old notebook entries. I loved the way this rereading spread to other areas of your life, your day, your surroundings. I too love to reread old notebook entries in the hope of excavating a little treasure, so I made strong connections with your day.

    Like

  5. Linda also wrote about fall! She shared a quote as well. It is true how rereading old entries sparks ideas. We love when teachers keep students writing or provide time for them to read their notebooks so they can revisit it to spark ideas. Your post would make a powerful focus lesson on process. Thanks for sharing.
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  6. franmcveigh says:

    So much to celebrate here, Rose. What a gorgeous quote to use for mentor text for anything that “overlaps” as it changes to a new . . . And the power of re-reading! Re-visiting for a fresh focus!
    Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The In-Between | Imagine the Possibilities

Leave a Reply

