Why Do I Love Fall?

Slice of Life2

Towards the end of summer a friend mentioned that she hated fall because that meant winter was coming. I replied that fall is probably my favorite season. She seemed surprised, so I tried to explain it as best I could, but it wasn’t until I was actually in the midst of the season that it all made sense. Since I’ve spent a lot of time outside this fall (especially since last Tuesday) trying to take long walks to clear my head, think things through, and just appreciate the world, I thought I’d share some of the reasons I love fall.  Here are ten (in no particular order):

  • The colors – a quilt of red and yellow and orange and brown dotting the hillside under a clear blue sky
  • The feel of the air, cool and crisp, on my cheeks
  • The smoky, pungent odor of a crackling bonfire
  • Everything pumpkin –

pumpkin donuts

pumpkin bread

pumpkin lattes

pumpkin spice

pumpkin soup

-Pumpkin everything

  • Warm afternoons, cool evenings
  • The moon – a harvest glow, big and round and oh-so-close
  • Halloween fun!
  • That first day it’s cool enough to pull out your favorite grey wool sweater (that little hole in the sleeve won’t matter)
  • Honking geese
  • Dog vs. squirrel –

Crunch!

Crunch!

Scamper!

Scamper!

…Gone!

Hope you have a perfect fall day!

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why Do I Love Fall?

  1. alr says:

    I too love fall. While it does signal the coming of winter, there is so much to enjoy in the meantime. I love all things pumpkin. I love the fall colors. I love the warm days and Halloween with my kids. And Thanksgiving! I see Fall more as a gentle leading into winter. Christmas makes it ok. After that, it’s all downhill, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Adrienne says:

    Fall is my favorite season. I am a knitter and I get to pull out all my woolens.I love the crisp air. And, of course, the colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ramona says:

    So much to love about fall! I used to have my students write a “kiss summer goodbye” paragraph or poem and then write a paragraph or poem to “embrace festive fall.” It was always good to think about all the things to love about fall. We’ve had a beautiful fall, but warmer than usual weather. Yesterday, on my walk . . . finally, a cool, crisp day. I remarked to my friend, “This is how a November day should feel.” Love your post and fall!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. arjeha says:

    What a great list, Rose. One of my favorite things about Fall is hoe apple cider.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. elsie says:

    Fall is Mother Nature’s quilt to enjoy before the blanket of snow that follows. Fall allows us to breathe in the fresh cool air while savoring the beauty of her colors.

    Like

  6. Great post, Rose. Thanks, too, for the heads up about my post. I think I fixed it. Maybe fall made me giddy. Vibrant colors and invigorating, brisk air can do that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

