One Little Word for 2017

Instead of making New Year’s Resolutions, I’ve been choosing One Little Word as a guide for a few years now, thanks to being introduced to this movement on Two Writing Teachers. Until last week I wasn’t sure what my OLW would be. Then one day I opened up the Highlights Foundation website anSlice of Life2d saw a picture of the stones garden. Front and center was the stone with the word ”create,” and I knew my OLW had found me.

In the past I have used Reflect, Listen, Re-imagine, Balance. All of those words had meaning and served me for a while, but I have to admit that I soon forgot about them. Why? I wondered. Then after reading Beth Moore’s  post this morning, I realized that maybe it was because I didn’t have a plan. I so admired the way Beth did some research about her word, then devised a plan where she could incorporate the concept into different areas of her life with meaningful actions. I needed to have a plan.

I started by copying the word into my notebook and brainstorming – ideas, words, connections, anything that struck me about what, how, why, and where I could create. I’m still working on it, but I know I want to step into creating stories for children, I want to help teachers create a passion for writing for themselves and their students, I want to create gardens that attract butterflies and birds in my backyard, I want to create a better understanding of world events within myself.

create

I think we all engage in creating things every day, but maybe we just aren’t conscious of it. This year I hope to raise my awareness of how I can contribute to creating something meaningful every day. I’m working on a plan.

 

This entry was posted in Slices, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One Little Word for 2017

  1. arjeha says:

    This is a perfect word for you, Rose. Not only do you create new things for yourself, you encourage others to use their creativity in their classrooms through your examples. Keep creating.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a wonderful One Little Word and you have approached your plan creatively! I hope you’ll share some of your plan and accomplishments at SOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lisa Keeler says:

    What a great word full of so many possibilities. I too was impressed by Beth’s thoughtful plans for her word. She has inspired me to push myself with my word and plan for 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LSquared says:

    I love that you mind mapped your OLW. I think I’ll do the same with mine. Then maybe it won’t seem so big. There’s such joy and play in creating. Have a wonderful, creative 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. aileenhower says:

    I love Beth Moore! I know this will be a year of creating and creativity for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Tara Smith says:

    Our word tends to find us, doesn’t it? The trick is to make use of it constructively all year. Beth is right about needing to have a plan!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I, too, have come up with and forgotten many of my words. I agree–a plan is needed. Hooray for creating in 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment