Shades of Blue

Slice of Life2

Robin’s egg, peacock

Imperial, royal

Ocean, aquamarine.

 

Lapis and sapphire

Persian, Egyptian

Cyan

            Slate

                        Steel

 

Blue is the sky.

Blue is the ocean.

But where is a blue that is true?

The boat churned through the deep waters of the western Caribbean. It was the last day of a week-long cruise and I was mesmerized by the sight before me – blue on blue of ocean and sky stretching for miles and miles. That was it, just ocean and sky as far as the eye could see, but yet so many distinct hues. How many shades of blue are there? I wondered. Could I name 25, 50? It was a challenge. I must admit I got a little help from an internet search, but in the end I came up with at least 50, although some may be different names for the same shade of blue.

Some blues are influenced by places like Egyptian blue, Honolulu blue, Persian blue, or Catalina blue. Of course there is sky blue, but also Italian sky blue, French sky blue, and Spanish sky blue. Does the sky look different depending on where you are in the world? I found many references to flowers or other objects in nature – bluebonnet blue, cornflower blue, robin’s egg blue, peacock blue, aquamarine, blizzard blue, and a personal favorite…bubbles. There is a Navy blue, and also an Airforce blue. There is Yankee blue and Dodger blue, imperial blue and royal blue. And let’s not forget the jewels – lapis, turquoise, and sapphire. I got lost in imagining so many different shades!

Today it is not blue I’m thinking of, but gray…because it’s February, and I’m in Pennsylvania. Hmmm…50 shades of gray could take on a whole new meaning.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shades of Blue

  1. arjeha says:

    After when Kathy and I are out one of us comments on the different shades of blue in the sky. I think the sky is different depending on where you are. The blue sky certainly was different in Africa. We will soon find out what the blue sky of Australia is like.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosecappelli says:

      Wow! You have caught the travel bug! Australia would definitely be on my bucket list. I will be traveling to Ireland this summer. I guess I will have to describe the many shades of green I see.

      Like

  2. elsie says:

    Love the way you got caught up in thinking about all the shades of blue.
    Heading for the Lake of the Ozarks tomorrow for the Write to Learn conference. Wish you were going to be there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Spit out my wine on the last line…. and didn’t even intend to make a rhyme! Love that you wrote about blue when I was expecting red and then left me with gray… it’s all I can say!

    Miss you.
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  4. franmcveigh says:

    Rose,
    What a treat!
    We’re on our 4th day of 50+ temps in Iowa with sunshine and blue sky. Funny how the blue at sunrise is not the same blue as noon or sunset, but I don’t think I will find paint samples for those! I think I will stick with shades of meaning for now . . . trying to stay out of trouble even though I just chuckled at your last line!
    Great to “see” you slicing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. alwriting says:

    Your thinking around the colour blue revealed so much Rose. I was curious because it remains my favourite colour and with summer still with us in Australia, the sea provides us with a blue colour chart on a daily basis. Blue in all its shades is a colour of infinite beauty. Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

