Easy Come, Easy Go

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

 

You know that feeling you get when you find some money tucked away in the pocket of a jacket or a pair of jeans you haven’t worn in a while? Your hand makes contact with something crumpled, maybe folded, and Voila! you’ve unearthed a treasure. It’s your money and has been your money all along, but somehow it feels like a gift, like someone just gave it to you for no apparent reason! That’s what I thought of yesterday when this happened…

An envelope arrived in the mail for my daughter, Ann, who has not lived with us since the summer of 2013. What was interesting about the letter was that it was from my former school district. Not so odd, though, since Ann had spent a year in the district as a school psychology intern. Needless to say, I was very curious. I thought about it all afternoon. A flyer announcing an event? A job offer? A plea for a donation?

Later in the day I called Ann and opened the letter while I had her on the phone. It turns out someone in accounting  had discovered a check for a little over $200 that was issued to her in 2013 but that had not been cashed. They wanted to know if she wanted it reissued. (Really? Did you have to ask?)

“What? What were they paying you for?” I questioned. Ann remembered that since she was fluent in Spanish, she had been asked to serve as a translator during some parent conferences. And, perhaps even more surprising, had gotten paid for it. Apparently the check was mislaid and was never cashed.

“That’s great!” she said. “It will help pay for the plumber I had to call today.” Easy come…easy go for this found money.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Easy Come, Easy Go

  1. Embekka says:

    Great post! I definitely know the feeling, and yes, there always seems to be a need for the money once you get it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dana Murphy says:

    Ooooh, I love found money! Too bad this one didn’t last long at all. Love your use of the phrase easy come, easy go. Couldn’t be truer in this situation.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. arjeha says:

    What a nice surprise even if it didn’t hang around for long. I think the most I ever found was $1.00. But hey, it was still a nice surprise.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cvarsalona says:

    Rose, what a great surprise but as you say, “Easy come; easy go.” I only find loose change in my washing machine. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lynnedorfman says:

    Oh, I love when that happens! A perfect title for this piece, Rosie! I was trying to read quickly to find out what was in the envelope – so you definitely kept me in suspense!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. blkdrama says:

    YAY!!! Found money!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tara Smith says:

    I love finding unexpected money…which almost never happens in my case!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Finding money tucked away somewhere is one of life’s greatest surprises. So many possibilities!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Finding money is always the best!!!! But very true always end up spending it on something else right away!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Love the ending – easy come, easy go! She did it for the passion – not the money. Always works better that way.
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

