Creating Something New

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

     I’ve been thinking quite a bit lately about my OLW for 2017 – create. My intention was to find different areas of my life, not just with writing, where I could create something tangible or intangible. I was thinking I needed to get back to this, to be more intentional in creating. Then I saw Amy Ludwig VanDerwater’s post on The Poem Farm. She used a poem to describe the process of making a stamp. Although I enjoy crafts, I don’t consider myself crafty, and the extent to which I can be trusted with a sharp knife is questionable – just ask my family. Making my own stamp would definitely stretch my creativity, so I decided to try it out.

First, I decided I needed more detailed instructions – You Tube to the rescue. Finding the necessary supplies was somewhat of an obstacle, but three craft stores later, I was ready.

thumbnail_IMG_1044

I gathered all my supplies and set to work. Amy’s instructions included thinking about the things you love to decide on a theme for the stamp, so of course I chose flowers. In the picture you will see the finished products. My first attempt was the iris which I think turned out better than the tulip.

thumbnail_IMG_1041

I wish I could say that the picture below was my third attempt. But that is the stamp that I bought for inspiration. It reminds me of the bluebird house in my backyard, the one I sometimes refer to as the “fancy house.” Isn’t it beautiful?

thumbnail_IMG_1044

 

There is an ad for a new version of Office that pops up on my computer from time to time –  Create. Edit. Do. Impress. Making my stamps took me through that process (maybe the “impress” part not so much). I have lots of material left, so if you want to try out stamp making, come on over!

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Creating Something New

  1. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski says:

    I love how you are living your OLW. I saw Amy’s post and loved that too! I bet my students would enjoy making them. Now I’m thinking….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love that you tried out making a stamp and holding yourself to your OLW! Inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE stamp carving. You should check out Letterboxing – it’s a treasure-hunt style game, and the reward is finding a box with a stamp in it. The vast majority of them are handcarved and many are pieces of art. You could even make your own! ( https://www.atlasquest.com/ )

    Like

  4. I never would have thought of trying to make my own stamp. I think your stamps look good! Way to embrace your OLW

    Liked by 1 person

  5. arjeha says:

    Congrats on trying new. I could see me slicing my fingers trying to do something like this. I do like your end results.

    Like

  6. elsie says:

    Isn’t it interesting what you can find on YouTube? I think for your first attempt you did a great job. Don’t give up, keep honing that skill.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tara Smith says:

    Amy’s post inspired me, too, Rose. I bought the supplies and they are sitting in a bag somewhere, you have motivated me to find them and get to work!

    Like

  8. pokeygirl5 says:

    What a fun project! I love trying out new things!

    Like

  9. Wow! You may not be impressed by your efforts but I sure am! Congratulations on rising to the challenge.

    Like

  10. I have to check out Amy’s post! I miss being creative too. I used to knit and have been missing it lately. I don’t seem to have the time. I figure in three years when my boys are both gone, I will have plenty of time to get creative. Maybe I’ll pop over in September of 2020 – stamps and martinis!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

