Something from Nothing

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

Friday night. Time to start thinking about dinner. Neither one of us wants to go out or pick up.

Let me see what I can come up with.

I open the refrigerator and scan the almost-empty shelves, remembering that I really must get to the grocery store tomorrow. Hmmm…leftover broiled flank steak (OK, we have protein), some please-eat-me-before-I-go-bad peppers and mushrooms. I know I have onions and garlic. Sounds like a stir fry beginning to take shape. I check to make sure I have rice…Yes!

I start the rice and begin slicing and frying… but wait! No soy sauce! Then I remember those left over packets from Chinese take-out that we keep for emergencies. I cut a few open and add the contents to my well-on-its-way creation, then quickly jot down soy sauce on my grocery list.

I consider myself a recipe cook, meaning I need one. I plan out meals for the week and list ingredients I don’t have on hand on my shopping list. I marvel at people who can just throw things together and come up with a deliciously decadent dish in a matter of minutes. My stir fry wasn’t quite like that, but on Friday night, I created something of my own…something from nothing.

Dinner

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Something from Nothing

  1. Lorie Barber says:

    I marvel at YOU! You did create a “decadently delicious dish” from what you had around! What a beautiful – and inspiring – post. A stir-fry is definitely in my family’s near future.

    Like

  2. Tara Smith says:

    That looks delicious! I’m a throw things together kind of cook, which can be quite the adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. travelinma says:

    I love these culinary creations from nothing. Sometimes they are quite a feat. I particularly love the line, “I consider myself a recipe cook, meaning I need one.” Sounds like you don’t! You can redefine yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks delicious! Love how you used everything on hand to create your meal! Even down to the left over Chinese packets!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. HA! I love this post–mostly because I did the SAME, EXACT thing last night. My wife is out of town and I couldn’t bear to feed my children fast food again (the guilt was eating me alive). So, I grabbed some chicken, had a green pepper and onion in the fridge, found a can of pineapple chunks, and a bottle of Sweet and Sour sauce. I made a sweet-and-sour chicken stir fry. And, it wasn’t half-bad. haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. arjeha says:

    I like your adventure with food, Rose. I am not creative when it comes to throwing a meal together. My go-to meal when I am stuck for an idea is eggs, fried or scrambled, toast, and a can of baked beans.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. jsementelli says:

    Sounds delicious!! Well done!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. So like the cooking channel. What can you make from these basket ingredients? You hit a home run (to mix metaphors). Yum.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lynnedorfman says:

    Now I want to try it! I certainly am not a cook with or without a recipe, but I think the idea of a stir fry over rice is something I could try to do! It sounded delicious! You also made me think about Phoebe Gilman’s book!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ms. Pesta says:

    I hope you recorded the recipe so you don’t forget it. Add something new next time.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Want to come over tonight? I am having the exact same problem. Too cold to go out and feeling uninspired to cook. I have been very busy and not planning my weekly menu like I typically do. I am not so good at winging it either. I do have some standby recipes that I always have the ingredients to make. Some days it is difficult to get creative. I treasure family dinners so I know I will figure something out. I do have the ingredients for stir fry or burritos or chicken crescent squares. This slice gave me the motivation to go make dinner –thanks!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

