The Sleep Study

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

     At the beginning of the month I wrote about an unexpected trip to the emergency room because I was experiencing a rapid, uncontrolled heart rate. Although I don’t expect that there will be any serious findings, it is something that had to be looked into since it has happened before. As a result of that, two studies were suggested. I used the scaffold from Fortunately by Remy Charlip to tell you about my experience with the first of those studies – the sleep study.

Fortunately…my cardiologist was able to follow up with me quickly.

Unfortunately…something he wants to rule out is sleep apnea, so I will be participating in a sleep study. What? You mean I have to go to a sleep center? No…

Fortunately…the sleep study can be done at home!

Unfortunately…it requires a bit of equipment and a meeting with a nurse to learn how to use it properly. And please sign here and here – that just says you promise to return everything.

Fortunately…learning about the study and the equipment served to expand my vocabulary – effort belt, nasal cannula, pulse ox sensor, sleep view monitor.

Unfortunately… I had my doubts about how, or if, this would work. Who can sleep with all of that stuff on them anyway?

Fortunately…I was able to get everything hooked up and taped to my hand and face. No, I did not take a picture!

Unfortunately…putting hard plastic tubes into my nostrils was a bit (no, a lot) uncomfortable, and I worried about even getting to sleep much less studying it!

Fortunately…I did manage to get some sleep (I think), despite the tapping hail on my window through the night and the effort belt strapped across my chest.

And fortunately, the green lights on the monitor in the morning indicated that the recording was successful so I don’t have to repeat it!

 

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Sleep Study

  1. lynnedorfman says:

    Oh, Rosie! I loved the use of the scaffold to create this text and the use of italics as well. Hope they find that you do not suffer from sleep apnea. I think this may be something I should do as well. Sounds very uncomfortable! You relayed this experience so well – and I did laugh when you said that you did not take a photo!

    Like

  2. showgem says:

    Love this post fortunate, unfortunate. Congratulations for a successful sleep study. Now it’s time for a peaceful gadget free nap.

    Like

  3. elsie says:

    Great structure! Love Fortunately by Charlip. How lucky that you were able to do this at home. I, on the other hand will be going to a sleep center in May for my study. Not looking forward to this.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. arjeha says:

    This made me smile. Years ago I went through a sleep study but went to a clinic. I was hooked up to all kinds of wires and told to have a good night. Really? Well, I didn’t sleep much at all. Kept wondering how was I to go to the bathroom if I had to. Turns out I did. Next morning when I left I headed straight to McDonald’s for breakfast. I felt I deserved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. No picture?!? C’mon, Rosie. That would have been priceless.
    Anyway, I’m glad the study was successfully done, and I hope the results are good. This experience can be scary. I’m thinking of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Glad the study resulted in some data– I know when my husband did it at a sleep center he swore he didn’t sleep at all. I hope the doctors signal the all clear!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You found just the right format to lighten up your story!
    Your line- no I did not take a picture- rings so honestly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Tara Smith says:

    And I hope that there is another fortunately here for you…the all clear!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love the structure – set the mood and tone perfectly. I agree with Tara — it needs one more fortunately…
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh this structure works so perfectly with your topic! What a delightful post. I’m sorry you had to go through this and I hope you’re able to get some answers. I loved the asides you included too with the italics.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

