Cultivating Curiosity Take 2

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

Yesterday morning I walked out to feed the birds, and as I looked out over the landscape of snow and ice, I couldn’t help but feel a little bit sad. I thought about the daffodils who, fooled into thinking it was spring, nodded their heads in a good-morning salute just a few days ago. Now they were buried. Frozen. Gone.  I thought about the tulips, too. Their buds were just beginning to surface. Would they make it? It’s no wonder I was anxious to get to my volunteer post at Longwood Gardens. There I would be in the presence of pink orchids and blue poppies and red roses – a rainbow of colors and a bouquet of scents!

I wrote about cultivating curiosity in my role as a children’s garden volunteer at Longwood in a previous post. Yesterday afternoon, there were very few children visiting the garden. The adults who visit without children usually just pass through and smile, perhaps commenting on the wonderful space for children. Today, for some reason, they were curious. But instead of, “Can I show you something?” or “What’s that?” the questions were a bit different.

“Does it get hot back here?”

“You know those orchids that are hanging from the ceiling in the silver room? Can I       grow them at home?”

“What’s that blue flower in the conservatory? Not the blue poppy, but the other one.”

     “You mean this one?” I grab my phone and show a picture I had just taken before my shift started of the hybrid blue cineraria that is grown from seed at Longwood. The intense blue is a shade that is hard to explain. I don’t think I have ever seen anything quite like it in the natural world.

Cineraria

The questions may have been a little different, but the result was the same. The garden displays had piqued the curiosity of the visitors who were hungry to learn more. And isn’t that what makes life interesting!

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cultivating Curiosity Take 2

  1. “Hungry to learn more” — would that we keep our curiosity at a child-like level all our lives. Longwood is the perfect place for learning and discovery. I need to get there soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lynnedorfman says:

    Longwood Gardens is such a great place for wonder! Oh, I could go for a stroll today! I loved the children’s questions.

    I, too, was deeply saddened by this burst of winter because it killed all my daffodils and crocuses, and who knows what else! Sheets of icy snow that will be around far too long!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. arjeha says:

    After being there I am anxious to return during a different season to enjoy its splendor.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Once you have it, there is no cure for curiosity -and isn’t that a wonderful thing? Rose, I’m so glad your day allowed you to meet some curious adults. The world needs its curious learners. Blooming marvelous!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. djvichos says:

    The visitors child-like inquisitiveness makes me think that they’re eager for spring. The blue flowers are stunning! I bet it’s wonderful to spend your day with flowers, and I can tell that you really appreciate them, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ramona says:

    What a fun volunteer opportunity! I know very little about plants, so I’m in awe of people who can name the beauty we see (like the hybrid blue cineraria). Absolutely lovely and I love the contrast of the yellow flowers beside it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I really need to visit Longwood Gardens, seems beautiful! I need to get there! I have never been there.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love this slice, Rose! I really love your opening about the flowers who peeked their heads out early. I’ve been so sad for our drooping daffodils! And our forsythia bushes! After reading your post, I want to come to Longwood Gardens!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

