Phone Number Poetry

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

The Assignment (from Jo Knowles in 59 Reasons to Write): Create a poem using your phone number.

The How-to: Pick a theme, then write your phone number down the length of the page. Each number represents how many words you should have on that line. A zero is a wild card so you can choose as many words as you like for that line.

The Poem:

                                Friends

6          Friends are treasures in our lives

1          Constant

0          Loyal

3          Ready to help

3          Ready to listen

1          Always

6          Friends are treasures in our lives

3          Don’t forget them

8          Time and distance can’t make memories fade away

5          True friends hold our hearts

The Reflection: I had fun with this poetry exercise. There was freedom yet structure within the constraint of number of words, and of course I got to pick my topic. Since friendship is a broad topic, I started by asking myself what I wanted to say about it. I started thinking about a couple of old friends who I don’t see often, but when we get together it’s like we were never apart.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Phone Number Poetry

  1. What are you doing up so early on a Saturday morning?
    Love this structure, Rose. I must try it out. I’m running out of ideas for blogging. Thanks for sharing yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. terierrol says:

    Thanks for the inspiration! I will try it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. paulabourque says:

    Oh, I had forgotten about this one. Thanks for the reminder to go back and read Kate’s 59 Reasons to Write. Yours is beautiful, Rose. Thanks for sharing your reflection as well. Always learning from you!

    Like

  4. Christine says:

    What a wonderful format. Thank you for the idea – I must try. More importantly you captured the need and joy of having good friends in so few words!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. aggiekesler says:

    You definitely nailed it! Friendship is all those things. I like your format. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have not shifted to poetry yet this month and I never thought of using Kate’s book. So far the topics keep coming – maybe that is because my life is a bit chaotic right now . I am saving the poetry ideas in case I give Poetry Friday a try in April again this year. Beautiful poem — I loved the line: Time and distance can’t make memories fade away. It works for kids who are growing and preparing to move away. My life!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lisa Keeler says:

    I love this idea… and had flagged a few things in Kate’s book, but not this one. Your poem is powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love your poem, Rose! I will have to try this format!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great idea, especially for kids! I love your thoughts on “time and distance” – #truth

    Liked by 1 person

  10. elsie says:

    Great thoughts on friends! Interesting structure, but I wonder how many phone calls you will get now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    A great idea, Rose! Love the theme of friendship too. Like Elsie, I wonder how many extra phone calls you’ll get too! 😉 All from good friends, of course!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Aileen Hower says:

    Another great idea for someone who is stuck during one of the 31 days of this challenge. Love it!

    Like

  13. Pingback: The Gift of Grace #SOL17 | The Author's Purpose

  14. cvarsalona says:

    I am so excited that I fell upon your post from another slicer, Laurie Pandorf. This is a wonderful activity, Rose. I am going to try it out next week. Your poem flowed on a topic that I hold dear to my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. arjeha says:

    This is great, Rose. I love the structure. It’s not one I’ve seen before. Ma have to try it before this challenge is over.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Hank you for sharing your process. I’ve heard of this type of poem but was stumped how to approach it. Thanks!

    https://wordsmithing2017.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Patricia says:

    Oh, my this is great! I read about it on “The Author’s Purpose” blog. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Lorie Barber says:

    Wow, Rose, I love this! Just jotted it down in my notebook to try!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Donna Smith says:

    Nice. I’ll have to try it sometime. You could use your zip code, too! Yay for 0!
    http://mainelywrite.blogspot.com/2017/03/a-jealousy-post.htmlhttp://mainelywrite.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Juliette says:

    You chose a great theme and structure. I have to try it soon. The reflection was also helpful. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I love this! I’m totally going to steal the idea for my Creative Writing class during our poetry unit next month. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Rose (and Jo): I love this! Oh…I’m going to play around with this tomorrow in my writing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. rdicarne says:

    Rose, I love this format. I will definitely be trying it. I can see where my students would like it too.
    ritadicarne.com

    Liked by 1 person

  24. lindabaie says:

    A fun idea. Margaret on Poetry Friday shared a math form she & her students created from fractals. I love the math forms! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. It’s try a different poetry structure month with TWT. This is a fun one, and your poem–the thoughts in it, the images, the rhythm–is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. bjdonaldson says:

    What a fun way to structure a poem. I like the idea of choosing the theme and then using the number to dictate the number of words in a line. Your theme came through loud and clear. Thanks for the slice.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. bjdonaldson says:

    Yesterday March 19), I posted a phone poem for my slice. (Thanks to your directions.) Today, my first-grade students used the format on Day 1 of poetry writing. It was so fun so thank you again for sharing that wonderful idea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

