Sometimes It’s Good To Be Alone

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

On the trail yesterday I spied a lone doe. I watched as she bent gracefully to sip from the small stream, then nibble a few chunks of grass emerging through the thawing earth. She lifted her head and observed her surroundings, sniffed the air to discover who was near. When she spotted me, we looked at each other for quite a while. Curious. Fascinated.

Sometimes Allan and I walk Cyrus on the trail together. It’s nice when we point out different things that we notice, things the other might have missed. We converse in quiet tones about our plans for the day, or the week, or who we think might make it to the final four. But we have different paces and places where we like to stop, so one of us is either slowing down or catching up it seems. Sometimes I like to walk alone, to get lost in my thoughts and not have to think about carrying on a conversation. I do a lot of thinking on the trail, and listening -to the sounds of nature or perhaps my most recent download from Overdrive.

Before long I spied the other deer, a group of about five on the other side of a small ridge. One spotted me and quickly came over to the one who was alone, as if to say, “Come on, it’s time to go. Time to play. There might be danger here.” The doe and I exchanged one final look, and then the group scampered up the hill and out of sight.

I think that doe and I have something in common. Sometimes it’s good to be alone.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sometimes It’s Good To Be Alone

  1. lynnedorfman says:

    A great piece, Rosie. Sometimes, we need that space and quiet time. You have a great trail to walk with Cyrus. I love the way you captured a small moment with the deer while on the trail and used italics to set it off. Engaging!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tbreitweiser says:

    I need my solitude or I go crazy.
    How lovely to have the ritual of walking on the trail!
    https://tammysreadinglife.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Ms. Pesta says:

    I find I need my alone time to recharge. Not having to talk is a joy at times. I also find that about every 3 months I need a day to myself just to regain some balance. Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love how you weaved from the moment to your reflection to the moment. I feel the same away about running. I am a committed runner so others want to run with me — I “get” them out there. Sometimes though I want to run alone – with my thoughts. I work out so much in my life as each foot repeatedly hits the pavement. Some days I run with the group and purposefully lag behind –they know me well enough to know I just need a mile or two to myself. Thank you for the beautiful post and reflection.
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I need my solitude. Sometimes I just take the car for a drive. But I love my easy companionship with my loved ones too. The best of both possible worlds.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a beautifully written piece, almost lyrical and so descriiptive I can see myself on the trial in our woods, encountering different deer. I’ve known for a long time that solitude is extremely important to my well being. Solitude, just as nature, is restorative.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Agree!!! Alone time is necessary sometimes!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. arjeha says:

    It is nice to be alone at times. We don’t have to be “on” for anyone. We can be quite and think our uninterrupted thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Tara Smith says:

    I loved the way you shifted perspective in crafting this. As an introvert, I need my solitude very deeply – perhaps that’s because I spend my days with loud and rambunctious sixth graders.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

