My Life in Numbers

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

A few slicers have used this format, so I thought I would give it a try. I jotted down numbers from 0 (instead of 1) to 10, then began brainstorming things that would fit. For some numbers I had lots of ideas, others were more challenging, so much so that I had to get a little creative as you will see.  And just to mix things up a bit, I started at ten and went backwards.

10        Number of books currently in my TBR pile. So many books, so little time.

9          +30 equals the number of years we have lived in our current house. So much for a                     starter home. It has changed a lot over the years – an added garage, an additional                    space that started as a patio, then became a screened porch, then became a sun                      room. And lots and lots of wallpaper and paint.

8          Number of cross-stitched pictures hanging on the wall. Years ago I loved to cross-                 stitch. Many are of Amish scenes with colorful quilts and boys in bright colored                       shirts. I also used to cross-stitch designs on my kids’ clothes – rainbows, musical                   instruments, animals, balloons.

7          Number of cars I have owned – a bright yellow Ford Pinto, a brown and tan sedan, a               blue Subaru Outback , a white Chrysler mini-van, my blue-green Nissan Altima with             my first ever sun roof (sigh), my first Honda CRV (red), and my second Honda CRV                 (Mountain Mist). Looking at the list you can tell where the kids started, and one                     thing is not like the others – a brown and tan sedan? Very 70’s.

6          Number of nieces I have. (I also have two nephews).

5          Number of months until Allan and I celebrate our 40th anniversary with a trip to                     London and Ireland.

4          Number of people in my immediate family. This is also the number of people that                 were in my family growing up (I have one sister).

3          Number of full years I have been retired.

2          Number of children I have – the human kind, not the one with fur.

1          Number of times I’ve been married. I married my best friend, what could be better                 than that?

0          Number of times I have skydived. Enough said. While some of these numbers may                 change with the years, this one never will.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Life in Numbers

  1. Christine says:

    Such a fun weekend post! I love that you counted down right to zero. It was like a surprise ending. But I must say I am right there with you – no skydiving for me!
    I must try this format – maybe for tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. terierrol says:

    I loved reading about your numbers. This is a great one I did with my students too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love those numbers… totally agree with your zero. You are blessed with your one!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this format. It is true that you have a full life!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love how you got creative with the number of years you lived in your house. I also like how you added 0. I would never skydive either!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. arjeha says:

    I do like this format because we learn so much about you. I am with you on your “0”. Not something I ever plan on doing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. paulabourque says:

    Creative, Rose! Especially the 9 (+30!!). I think I have some similar “zeroes”!! This was fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. elsie says:

    One is not the loneliest number in this list. 🙂 I used to cross stitch long ago, it was relaxing but alas, I gave it up to pick up a new hobby. Fun list of numbers and facts.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love the ending sentence. I’m with you on that one. Reading your numbers, learning about you–well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. lynnedorfman says:

    Oh, this format worked so well for you! This post was so much fun to read – so enjoyable! I loved reading your choices, especially the last one!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Zero is my favorite!!! All the exercises and scaffolds are so creative — next year I have to break out of my comfort zone. I just type what my fingers need to say!!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Juliette says:

    Great post. One I would like to try.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

