Sometimes You Just Have to Indulge

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

I try to eat in a healthy way as much as possible. I watch my carbs and dairy intake, have green smoothies for breakfast several times a week, snack on almonds, and try to drink plenty of water. But last night when Allan suggested we try a new burger place that recently opened, I jumped at the opportunity not to have to cook.

Let’s go!

Smashburger is a step above fast food, but offers lots of choices so you can at least attempt to eat a healthy meal, or kid yourself into thinking that you are. You can choose the type of burger and bun you want and build your own creation with a variety of add-ons. I was excited to see that one of the options was a black bean burger, so I chose that on a multi-grain bun with spinach and their special sauce (not sure what was in it, but it tasted good). Allan and I shared an order of fries, and while this is not the healthiest of choices, they were a shoestring cut, tossed in olive oil, and flavored with rosemary and garlic. Different, so we decided to try them. I topped it off with a cup of iced green tea.

I was feeling pretty good about the whole thing until, on our way out, Allan said, “How about a trip to Rita’s on the way home?”

Busted.

Sometimes to just have to indulge.

(The mango gelati was delicious.)

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sometimes You Just Have to Indulge

  1. terierrol says:

    Sometimes you just have to feed yourself. As long as you are good most of the time, you are doing great! My husband’s sweet tooth gets me in lots of trouble!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carwilc says:

    I’m like you. I eat fairly well most of the time, but sometimes you do have to indulge. And Smashburger is yummy! And gelato, if you are in the frozen treat mood, is way healthier than premium ice cream!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lindabaie says:

    We have Smashburger too, but I’ve never been. That doesn’t mean I don’t have burgers, though. I actually love the fries even more! Yours sound wonderful! Love the way you wrote this, Rose, and yes, considering the intro, guess you are ‘busted’!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Haven’t been to Smashburger, but indulging once in a while is good for the soul, that’s for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. parkers says:

    This is making me hungry for a burger at 10 am!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. onathought says:

    Ritas! That’s the best way to indulge right there. :-0 I think I’ve heard the experts say that you really do need to indulge in order to maintain healthy habits… or at least I like to think I’ve heard them say that!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Smashburger sounds good. Never heard of it before. Mango gelati was a perfect treat! My favorite! Sometimes you got to treat yourself and indulge in the not so healthy choices!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. arjeha says:

    Pass up an opportunity to stop at Rita’s? Never. Sometimes you just have to treat yourself. You are worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Tara Smith says:

    We have a Smashburger and a Rita’s near us, Rose…you have just given me dinner plans. Thanks ;)!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Leah says:

    Life’s to short to skip dessert!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. mbush17 says:

    ^i agree with this statement!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. elsie says:

    Don’t know Rita’s, but I’m sure I’d love it. I have been to a Smashburger in Phoenix, thoroughly enjoyed my burger. You did choose a lot of healthy options, so it’s okay to indulge.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Lisa C says:

    Mango Gelati at Rita’s is something I think about all summer. I miss it so much! The burger sounds good, and so do the fries. But the Rita’s has me longing for a summer trip back home!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. You only live once! ! My mom always said you could only gain so many pounds in a day – so if you were going to go bad … go. Go big or go home! Love the Busted. line.
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  15. rdicarne says:

    You just can’t pass on a Rita’s!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

