AYPI? (And Your Point Is?)

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

The other day I was watching a news program and learned that a congressman (maybe a senator) left this message on something he was supposed to read: TLDNR (Too Long Did Not Read), and I started thinking about acronyms. Granted, I have used acronyms for years. Back in the 60’s when I was a teenager, SWAK was a popular sendoff in a letter to that special someone. And who can deny BYOB, RSVP, FAQ, and FIY?  When I started sending text messages I specifically avoided using acronyms for words that I could easily type out (it just didn’t seem right). I realize that if you are limited to the number of characters you use, some acronyms may come in handy, but it was years before I figured out what EOM meant at the end of an email message line. Some frequently used acronyms I have deciphered, like LOL and BTW, but sometimes it takes me longer to figure out what is being said than if the person sending the message would just type it out.

I got curious and of course turned to Google and found a site that lists the 500 (yes, 500) most commonly used acronyms. Here are a few of my favorites in no particular order:

CMIIW (Correct Me If I’m Wrong) – No problem there. If I can’t figure it out I will assume you are right. Looks like a Roman numeral to me.

DUCT (Did You See That?) – Seeing this in a text or email would conjure up rolls of duct tape for me.

FOCL (Falling Off a Chair Laughing) – I think there are more acronyms devoted to various degrees of laughing than anything else, many of which involve various parts of the body falling off or on. Really? I also found ROTFLOLWTIME How long would it take someone to figure out that is Rolling On The Floor Laughing Out Loud With Tears In My Eyes?

G2GTAP  (Got To Go Take A Pee) – Just TMI

GR8 or THX – With just a few more letters you have the word!

HAHA – This one was disturbing. It means Having A Heart Attack. If someone sent me this I would assume they were laughing, and that probably is what is means sarcastically, but why take the chance?

PDS (Please Don’t Shoot) – Again, I get the sarcasm , but all I could envision was someone texting the person mugging them!

Just something that I hope brings a smile today, FWIW.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to AYPI? (And Your Point Is?)

  1. paulabourque says:

    As teachers we get so used to acronyms, and then as a parent I come across texting shortcuts and I’m often at a loss! Context is everything! Thanks for this primer B4N TX!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post –totally laughed and could hear your voice the entire way through. I agree with Paula that we use a ton in education too. Some days I feel like I am speaking gibberish while presenting. I don’t know FWIW of Paula’s B4N TX –and I am not going to look them up — I think that might be what your point is!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rose, I love your sense of humor–your take on the PDS is priceless. Mostly I skip over acronyms instead of trying to figure them out. I guess I don’t know what I’m missing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Funny. The military is the master of acronyms, though. I was often confused by them in my years as a military wife- my husband served in both the Air Force and Army.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. arjeha says:

    I sometimes wonder what could be accomplished by people who think of acronyms. Truthfully, If I can’t figure out what someone is trying to say by a bunch of letters strung together I just dismiss it as not being important. Thanks for the smile, Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Enjoyed your post, Rose! I ageee sometimes it takes more time to try to figure them out!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. litcoach64 says:

    Your post made me laugh…and in education we have SO MANY acronyms to remember! I am totally too old to start using some of those you mentioned. I know I’d mess them up somehow!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Amy Warntz says:

    Well, I thought AYPI stood for AND YOUR POST IS? I seriously misread “point” for “post” and I thought your post was going to be about writer’s block. I caught on quickly to my miscue as soon as I started reading…it’s been a long day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

