A Spine Poem

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

Today I decided to try a spine poem. I remember creating one before and know that sometimes it is not as easy as it may seem. At least not for me. Should there be a message? A theme? Since we’re getting to the end of the month long Slice of Life Challenge, I’ve been starting to do some reflecting on what the month has meant and what I have learned.

Hmmm…Maybe that could be my theme.

To me, Slice of Life is about finding the stories in our lives, falling in love with those ordinary gifts that come with day to day living, becoming more confident as writers, creating, and risk-taking.

Now for the books. Can I create that message with book titles ?

I looked around my office and noticed a few stacks of picture books, a TBR pile, and my bookcase of mostly professional books. The Newkirk book jumped out at me right away, then I found some more titles that seemed to work, rearranged, added, discarded, rearranged again, and finally came up with this (please read from the top down).

Spine Poetry

Hey world, here I am!

A happy dreamer

With aimless love.

Minds made for stories

Open a world of possible

Day by day

P.S. Happy Dreamer is a new book by Peter Reynolds that celebrates the unconventional, sometimes-messy-but-always-creative dreamer in all of us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Spine Poem

  1. I love your poem! It captures the spirit of the challenge perfectly!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the poem, and hearing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your spine poem! Perfect reflection of Slice of Life! Happy Dreamer is at our Boof Fair currently! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. terierrol says:

    Your poem perfectly portrays the message of this challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I had to find out what a spine poem is! Loved it, Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Amy Warntz says:

    Spine poetry is so much fun. I’m glad you took the time to look around your office. Happy Dreamer, there is just something inviting about that title. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lynnedorfman says:

    The spine poem worked out so well, Rosie! And I also love the recommendation – I do not have Happy Dreamer or Aimless Love. Great to give us directions for reading from the top down and the photo as well. Thanks for sharing spine poetry – I want to try it out!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lisa L2L4L says:

    Spot ON! I love this – great books and simple but powerful message! Thanks for slicing this book spine poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. arjeha says:

    Love your poem, Rose. These titles work perfectly together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

