Banana Mania

Slice of Life2  The Inspiration: I sit at my computer, hoping for an idea. What have I noticed recently that could become a slice of life on this first Tuesday after the March challenge? My mind wanders through events of the past few days and I think about the Crayola crayon that is being retired – Dandelion, I believe. Then I remember that Amy at The Poem Farm is doing a project where she pulls a crayon at random each day and creates a poem from it. Bingo! I’ll try it.

The Process: Since I don’t have a box of 64 Crayola crayons handy, I pull up a list of the colors, choose a random number, and count down. I land on Banana Mania. I like the name, but what shade of yellow is that exactly? I soon discover that it really isn’t a shade I normally associate with a banana – more of a tan or beige with yellow undertones. I’m not inspired, so I decide instead to brainstorm thoughts and ideas associated with Banana Mania. I come up with monkeys, rainforest animals, nutritional value, how to eat a banana, the banana tree at Longwood, taste, and various recipes that use bananas. Is there something in there I can use?

The Product:

Banana Mania

Bananas in my smoothies

Bananas in my bread,

Bananas on my waffles,

Bananas fill my head!

The Reflection: I will be the first to admit that this is not a wonderful poem, and although I tried to come up with a second stanza, it just didn’t work for me without feeling forced. But it reminded me that this experience plays out every day in classrooms. As we offer strategies to our students, it is important to remember that what works for one may not work for another.  It is a reminder to see each writer as an individual and help them find what works or inspires them. It’s OK to hit a dead end. It happens to writers all the time.

I think I’ll go eat a banana now.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Banana Mania

  1. Thanks for the honesty…and the humor!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ramona says:

    Love the way you brainstormed to find your topic for today. Who knew banana mania was a crayon color? And I’m heading for the lone banana on the counter when I go downstairs!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Adrienne says:

    I struggled today, too. I am going to remember this exercise in poetry writing for the next time I feel like my well of ideas has dried up.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So true!! I love the idea as these strategies or projects as scaffolds – it might work for some and it might now. I love the ending — perfect voice and humor as always!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  5. arjeha says:

    Love that you took us through the process for your post. How true that not everything works for everyone which is why a variety of approaches in the classroom is so important.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lynnedorfman says:

    What a great idea, Rosie! The kids will love this – a great way to come up with something for a notebook entry or a poem for this poem. A good variation for color poems – thanks for sharing your process.A great ending for your poem – fun to read! Fun to create!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. dianeandlynne says:

    Right, Rose. You tried it; it didn’t work for you. But the important thing, and what we share with our students, is that you tried it. Every time we take a risk we risk failure (not that I’m suggesting your poem is a failure), but sharing those “didn’t work” drafts is as important (maybe even more important) than sharing our successes.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. elsie says:

    I couldn’t think of a topic today either, but then I went outside to get the mail and noticed the plethora of petals and pansies. An alliterative haiku was born. At least your brain did not turn to banana mush and you were able to share the thinking that sent you down this road for a post.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Amy Warntz says:

    I for one happen to like your little poem! It made me chuckle. I love the way you structured your post too. Thanks for making your thinking so evident.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. travelinma says:

    This was a good exercise. You were experimental and playful….that’s great.

    http://www.travelinma.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thank you for sharing your process! So very true!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Christine says:

    I was right there with you today. I think I have dried up writing brain after the slice challenge. But I love what you did to overcome the block.
    And yes, we need to remember that our students are sometimes in a rut and we need to be there for them!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Chris Pesta says:

    I can hear your voice in this piece maybe it is because this is something every writer confronts. Try banana cake next time, it is delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment