The In-Between

Slice of Life2I love seasonal changes. They remind me that life is constantly changing and that change and growth are a necessary part of moving forward. I especially love those in-between times, those times when two seasons co-exist, one melting into the other. I wrote about summer moving into fall last October, and the other day I was equally mesmerized by winter giving in to spring. We’ve had some crazy weather lately, warm temperatures in the middle of February that forced the daffodils out way too early, then a significant snowfall in March. Last week a chilly wind was blowing, but spring was just about ready to make an appearance.

 

The In-Between

 

white bud-clusters

peek from green jackets

feel the chill

unsure

 

pink blossoms

eager to greet the world

stay sheltered from the wind

indecisive

 

one brave tulip

joins the drooping daffodils

beckons more to follow

hopeful

 

then a day of sun

and a gray-green world

bursts forth in color

unwavering

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The In-Between

  1. I like the progression from unsure to unwavering…it really does capture the time when the change takes place.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like your use of a single adjective at the end of each phrase. It was very effective. I especially like “One brave tulip….beckons more to follow…hopeful” You really captured the spirit of the “in between”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosecappelli says:

      Thanks. I wrote a rough version of this in a doctor’s waiting room. I only had the final adjective (unsure) in the first verse. I was about to take it out because it was different, but it wanted to stay. So I modeled the other verses after it. Funny how our words speak to us sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. elsie says:

    I can just picture those hesitant plants, they want to bloom fully but the chill makes them linger in wait. The sun will warm everything soon and all will be blooming.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. margaretsmn says:

    Your ending adjectives describe change from season to season in life as well as in nature. Did you create the form or model it from another? I’d like to try using it. As you know I’m trying to find a muse.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosecappelli says:

      Thanks. It was just free form writing on a little scrap of paper while I was waiting for the doctor. I had “unsure” and there was something about that word and it’s placement that I liked. So I added others when I revised today. I think it still needs a lot of work, and I appreciate your input.

      Like

  5. This is so beautiful –one of my favorites to date. I just might need to print and hang it in my office. Thank you for sharing this beautiful (and timely) slice of life poem.
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bohemiotx says:

    I like your use of the color of flowers and the changing weather. It reminded me of my new hobby. I put branches of leafy bushes in attractive washed out beer cans.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. arjeha says:

    Let’s hear it for the In-betweens. You have beautifully captured the progression. We know that that one brave tulip is scouting and will soon be joined by many of its friends

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You definitely captured the “in-between”. I can picture it all! Love your poem! I like the single adjective at the end of each verse as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Amy Warntz says:

    Your delicate poem perfectly welcomes spring and weaves in winter good-byes. I love the parallel structure and the vivid vocabulary. I’m anxious for spring to stay!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Alice Nine says:

    I’m a lover of seasonal changes and appreciate your sentence, “I especially love those in-between times, those times when two seasons co-exist, one melting into the other.” Lovely movement in your poem expressing the change that happens.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment