Tulips

Slice of Life2

My shift in the Children’s Garden at Longwood was just ending. Despite the fact that there had been a steady drizzle throughout the morning, I decided to keep my plans to explore the just-beginning-to-bloom tulips. Besides, by now the drizzle had slowed to some intermittent drops. There is something special about a flower garden after it rains – the colors are more vibrant, the fragrances heightened, and a lingering raindrop kissing a petal can offer just the right photo opportunity.

There are tulips in several places throughout Longwood, but yesterday I chose to wander in the Idea Garden. The tulips there are laid out in a rainbow of squares, bringing to mind a patchwork quilt. Some of the tulips were in full bloom, some just opening, while others were closed tightly for a few more days. I marveled at the well-planned blooming schedule that would provide optimal viewing to guests over several weeks.

Since my plan for April is to post poetry, and since today is International Haiku Poetry Day, I offer this observation:

Tulips

 A quilt of colors

Purple, pink, red, and yellow,

Welcoming the sun.

This entry was posted in Poems, Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tulips

  1. Gorgeous pics, and the haiku fits perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. arjeha says:

    How beautiful. We must get back.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. JudyK says:

    Beautiful flowers and a perfect haiku! 🙂 ~JudyK

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How fortunate we are to live so close to along Wood! Your photos are great and I love the haiku. You’re so right about how a garden looks and feels after the rain. Tulips opening to the sun–one of my favorite things.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I meant Longwood! Darned auto correct.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. How lucky you are to live so close to Longwood. It’s on my Bucket List, for sure! Tulips make me happy. I’ve been enjoying some bright red ones this morning. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lynnedorfman says:

    Love the haiku and love the photos, Rosie. I want to jump in my car and head to Longwood right now! Best of all was the description of the flower garden after the rain. It was beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Amy Warntz says:

    Before I read your post I quickly scanned through and took in the beauty of the photographs you captured. The first thing that came to my mind was the tulips are as beautiful as the quilts I just viewed on Bob’s page. Then after reading your poem I see we made similar connections. I must, must get to Longwood and visit! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I saw your post earlier today when I linked my own and just had to come back and read it! The reason was not the tulips – although they are lovely, as are your thoughts and haiku – but Longwood Gardens! I am soooo jealous that you get to work or volunteer there! I have had the pleasure of visiting Longwood several times in my life. It is a very special place – my favorite time being at the holidays when entire rooms are decorated with poinsettias! I can see how visitng such a place on a regular basis can be very inspiring! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Beautiful! Loved your haiku! I really need to go to Longwood!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ramona says:

    Love your tulip pics. I have a favorite rain-kissed tulip pic I took last year. Maybe it needs a haiku to go with it. Your book made it into my poetic alphabet stroll for the letter P!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

