High Fidelity

Slice of Life2    For riding in the car, I’ve almost always been a music person. Most of the time my choice is classic rock, but I’ve also listened to my share of kid songs, morning DJs, classical CDs, movie and show soundtracks, even campy Christmas music during the season. I used to complain about having to listen to sports talk whenever Allan drove, and lately I fear I am turning into him. Not sports talk exactly, but talk. More and more I find myself changing the station to NPR for “All Things Considered” or podcasts of Serial and S-Town.

And then there’s the audio books. I’ve become a regular Overdrive customer, and often add the Whispersync feature to books I buy for Kindle. I appreciate it when I can listen to a sample before I purchase or borrow, because the voice does make a difference. What a pleasure it was to listen to Claire Danes’ voice as the narrator of The Handmaid’s Tale, a book I reintroduced myself to in light of these troublesome political times. Several years ago I was listening to The Shoemaker’s Daughter read by an actress with a beautiful Italian accent and lyrical voice. I was halfway through when the narration changed to the author. While she wrote beautiful words, her voice just didn’t do them justice, and it changed my whole experience.

I listen while walking the dog, running errands, and of course on those longer car rides. During the last two weeks I did so much traveling that I was able to finish Cheryl Strayed’s Tiny Beautiful Things and Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad.  My audio books have become so important to me that I get a little nervous if I don’t have one waiting in the wings. Like now. I am on the wait list to borrow the audio versions of The Sun Is Also a Star and The Hate U Give (thank you Clare and Tammy), two YA novels I am looking forward to “reading.”

I know listening to books is not for everyone, but for me it greatly increases the titles I get through. I read lots of print books, too, but there are so many books and never enough time, so why not capitalize on every minute you can steal to read…or listen.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to High Fidelity

  1. I love listening to recorded books, Rose. The scary thing about listening to them in the car is that sometimes you get from point A to point B and you don’t remember the drive! I’ve also been known to sit in the car in a parking lot or driveway and finish listening to a chapter or NPR story. Did you know there is a term for that? It’s called an “NPR Driveway Moment.” It’s a thing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We will try too. Looking for something different. Nice posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. franmcveigh says:

    Rose,
    I had my new car for a week before I realized it did not have a CD player. Unfortunately, some audio recordings are so slow that I lose interest/thought/concentration. I need to try again!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Adrienne says:

    I have become a huge consumer of audiobooks over the last few years. I always have one playing in the car and even listen at home while I am knitting. I joke that audiobooks let me do my two favorite things at the same time, but it is true.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. aileenhower says:

    I love audiobooks. I couldn’t find time to read The Kitchen House, but was able to get it through audible and listen to it. I loved it. I have “read” the whole Lord of the Rings Trilogy and many other great texts this way. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lynnedorfman says:

    I still have not tried audiobooks, although I think I will definitely try it out going back and forth to the shore this summer. I would be afraid to do it if I did not know the route – I would get lost in the story and definitely LOST! You will love the YA reads – they were moving (fast reads, too). Colson Whitehead’s book was a favorite. A very different underground railroad story!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosecappelli says:

      You should definitely try it. It is amazing how much you get through just in an ordinary day of errand running. There are days I look for excuses just to get in my car again and hear some more. If I am traveling I always have my GPS running too. They work together since one is visual and the other audio. The book is paused if directions are being given or if a call comes in.

      Like

  7. elsie says:

    I have not listened to a story in a while. Guess I need to get to the library to see what’s available.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My MIL has been trying to sell me on audio books for awhile. I feel like I’d have to have ear buds in (while
    Driving as a passenger in the car) if I did that. I can’t imagine the kids leaving me
    Alone long enough to make it work. At least not yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Couldn’t agree more –just sent you The Hate U Give from audible. Check your email and let me know if you got it. Audible lets you share with one person for free –enjoy!!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I haven’t tried audiobooks. Should have maybe tried them out when I had my long drives to and from school!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. rdicarne says:

    I love audiobooks. I don’t use them much because my drive to work is only 10 minutes. Some of my favorites were An Irish Country Doctor and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosecappelli says:

      My drive to work was about 12 or 13 minutes, but twice a day and with errands after school, I found I could hear about 30-40 minutes per day. Even short spurts worked for me.

      Like

  12. Tara Smith says:

    Podcasts have become my thing…and there are so many new ones! I’ve been listening to Strangers, which is just mesmerizing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

