Namaste

Slice of Life2

I entered the darkened studio with some hesitancy. Although I had practiced Yoga before, this was a new place, and I had concerns. Where should I place my mat? If I put it here in the back is that someone’s regular spot? Can I use another mat as a cushion? What if I can’t keep up? The studio filled up quickly, the instructor entered, and soon I could hear soft music and a reassuring voice. For the next hour I did my best, making adjustments as needed…

 One of my goals when I retired a few years ago was to get my body back in shape. Although I walk daily and play golf occasionally, I knew I needed something more to stay healthy and active. So began a variety of classes and strength training until I finally settled into Yoga. It seemed to fit me well – stretching, balance, flexibility – everything I needed. Then came a back injury, followed by two setbacks, and yoga was relegated to the back burner. A health scare a few months ago and a stern talking-to from my doctor convinced me that I needed to get back to doing something in addition to walking.

I started by downloading a short Yoga routine on my iPad, and after two sessions I was hungry for more. Now I’m back to yoga two or three times a week at a local gym. I was worried at first that I wouldn’t be able to keep up, that I wouldn’t be able to do all the poses. And I’m not able to do everything. But that doesn’t matter. In Yoga there is no competition, everyone practices at his or her own level, and that is always acceptable. I think there are parallels here with what we want for our students in reading and writing workshops – no competition, let me meet you where you are, I will accept your best effort and guide you to move forward.

For the next hour I did my best, making adjustments as needed…and that made all the difference.

Namaste.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Namaste

  1. aileenhower says:

    I am so impressed with your pool and gym routines. I wish I had them – they are good indeed. Maybe with the pace of my “new” life coming up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. arjeha says:

    Congratulations on your new health routine, Rose. I like the fact that there is no competition and everyone works to the best of her/his ability.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yoga can be awesome- with a great instructor, it can be life changing. Once, I tried a closer studio that friends seemed to like. The instructor made me feel like I was being touched with a dead fish. Her energy was awful! I realized what a good thing I had going. It sounds like you’re making wonderful steps to challenge yourself to grow.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amy Warntz says:

    Yoga is a wonderful way to exercise your body. I’m glad you found something you enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lynnedorfman says:

    Great connections with reading and writing workshop in school. Good for you Rosie! I am thinking that yoga and meditation would be good for me as well. Maybe before the summer is over…..Pat Smith’s daughter is an instructor.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dianeandlynne says:

    I’ve never tried yoga, though I did a few sessions of tai chi when I was still teaching. I think the mindfulness of both disciplines is what’s important. I go to the gym regularly, but maybe a yoga class would suit me. I’ll let you know.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love the connections you made with life in school – we need to let kids be mindful, know they will be accepted and meet them where they are right now. Good for you and thanks for sharing.
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Since my recovery from cancer two and a half years ago, I joined a Chair Yoga class nearby. I never thought I’d enroll in a clearly “senior” yoga class, but it turned out to be just right for me at the time, and still is. I started out very tentatively, got stronger and better at it, tried a more ambitious class, experienced some physical setbacks, and still continue will the Chair Yoga which has been my anchor. What I like about yoga is that you can adjust from class to class: some days my body is up to a bit more of a challenge; other days I’m happy just to be there! I love the mind-body connection that yoga offers. Good for you!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. elsie says:

    I am in awe of those who can do yoga. I tried a video with friends and that just didn’t work out for me. Good for you getting back into this routine.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Tara Smith says:

    Yoga sounds a lot like writing…I can do the latter but not the former, Rose. And reading posts like yours makes me feel I ought to give it another try!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. i have a hard time finding the right kind of yoga – its so hard and finding the right teacher & class

    Like

Leave a comment