Authors Are My Rock Stars

Slice of Life2

The Highlights Foundation, nestled in Pennsylvania’s Pocono mountains, is a special place where writers and illustrators of all shapes and sizes and experience levels come together to learn, share, and be inspired. When you turn into the driveway and make your way to The Barn, you can feel the energy. It’s almost magical.

Last weekend I had the privilege of attending a workshop at Highlights. Most of the guests are housed in individual cabins, but this time my room was in the Lodge – a larger building with its own unique charm. There is a great room with comfortable couches, a kitchen area, and writing desks that opens up to a wide porch with rocking chairs. There are about ten guest rooms, and it is the custom of the staff to attach a sign to the door of the cabin or room announcing the name of the guest. After locating my room, I continued down the hall to see who else was there. I think my heart literally skipped a beat when I got to the last two doors. On one side of the hall – Rebecca Stead; on the other – Wendy Mass. Suddenly, I was once again sitting with a group of fifth graders reading When you Reach Me and 11 Birthdays. Instinctively, I put my hand on each door, willing that the creative spirit and talent of these two wonderful authors could somehow transfer to me.

Rebecca and Wendy were not part of my workshop (which, by the way, had its own lineup of superstars). They had come to spend time on their writing and be inspired, just like the rest of us. I did have the opportunity to speak briefly with Wendy later in the evening, but I only got a glimpse of Rebecca at breakfast before they both headed home.

Authors are my rock stars, and that’s the way it is at The Barn – you never know who you might run into.

Highlights Lodge

The Lodge at the Highlights Foundation

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Authors Are My Rock Stars

  1. ureadiread says:

    What a wonderful weekend that must have been. Like walking in the footsteps of what we aspire to.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Christine says:

    I loved this quote: “Instinctively, I put my hand on each door, willing that the creative spirit and talent of these two wonderful authors could somehow transfer to me.” This gave me a wonderful sense of the love for their writings.
    This place sounds magnificent. How fortunate you were to be there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So much to love about this post!!! I LOVE Highlights and I stayed in the lodge too. Love that! Authors are my rockstars, too! Thank you for sharing this experience. Hope you had FUN and wrote a lot too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. elsie says:

    Authors are rock stars! I believe you are an author too, so you have that same status in my book. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rose — it sounds amazing. Tammy and I should check it out. Are you working on a children’s book? I know you were thinking about it. That would be amazing!!!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosecappelli says:

      Yes but it is much more difficult than people might expect. I have several things started and just when I think they are about ready I’m thrown a monkey wrench in a critique. But that helps me learn so it’s all good. Maybe someday.

      Like

  6. arjeha says:

    How exciting! And I am sure, Rose, that some people saw your name, touched your door, and had the same reaction you did.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lynnedorfman says:

    It’s great that you were able to spend another weekend at Highlights – it all sound wonderful! I feel the same way about children’s authors and professional authors – they are all rock stars in my book!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sounds like a wonderful weekend! Authors sure are rock stars!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Tara Smith says:

    What a fabulous weekend to write in a beautiful place. And author rock stars, too – heaven!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

