Yoga with Goats

Slice of Life2The article in the Philadelphia Inquirer caught my attention – “Yoga with Goats: All the Kids Are Doing It.” I didn’t get the play on words immediately and thought at first it was just for children. But the more I read, the more intrigued I became, and after discovering that this was an actual new “thing” across the country, I decided I had to try it out.

On Sunday I drove a little more than an hour to Mountain Pride Farm. It was a beautiful morning – low humidity, blue skies, light breeze. I joined other yoga enthusiasts, including about half a dozen or so baby goats, in a large enclosure where there was room enough for everyone. Since I’m used to dim lighting and a soundtrack of soft background sounds in my yoga classes, this experience was quite different. It seemed fitting to engage in sun salutations while feeling the sun’s warmth on my skin. My music was provided by a woodpecker rat-a-tat-tatting in the distance, punctuated by a rooster’s crow and the bleats from the baby goats. It actually was very relaxing – very zen.

I’m still not entirely clear on the “why” of yoga with goats. At one point I stepped off my mat to get better footing for a balance pose. When I turned back, one of the goats was nibbling some hay scattered on my mat. I just couldn’t help smiling and grabbing the chance for a quick petting before he bounded off. Did that bring me more out of the moment or into it?

All in all, it was a fun experience. There may even be a picture book in there somewhere. “The Three Yoga Goats?” or maybe “The Three Billy Goats’ Mantra?”

 

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yoga with Goats

  1. Tara Smith says:

    It’s rather curious having those goats around, I’ll admit, but they made you smile (and only nibbled at your mat), so that spells success as far as I’m concerned.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. arjeha says:

    I have heard about this. So, what poses did the goats do? 🙂 Sounds like an interesting session.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy Warntz says:

    So fun! I’m actually going to do goat yoga in September!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

