Small Changes

One day last week I took my regular early morning stroll down the driveway to retrieve the newspaper. I was about halfway on my journey when I suddenly stopped and looked around. For one split second I wasn’t sure where I was. Everything (trees, houses, flowers, grass) was familiar, but yet they all looked different. Then I remembered that our neighbors across the street had two large pine trees taken down the day before, so the sunlight filtering through the remaining trees was altered. It created different shadows and illuminated different parts of the flowers and grass. A small change that made a difference in my view of the world, that made me stop and notice.

That experience got me thinking about the power of small changes in other areas of life. For instance, a small change in a classroom environment – providing areas for partnerships or small groups to talk – might result in increased student collaboration. A decision to provide more choice in reading or writing instruction might help a teacher look differently at her students as they reveal unexpected information about themselves.

And it doesn’t stop there. What if we all made just one small change in how we treat each other, or how we learn and play together? It might not change the world, but it might bring us closer together. When we make small changes in the way we have always done things, we get to see things from a different perspective, and that can make all the difference.Slice of Life2

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Small Changes

  1. Lisa Orchard says:

    I love this post! Be the change you’d like to see in the world. I think small changes cause a ripple that can have a huge effect, don’t you?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ALR says:

    “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” What an inspirational post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this post! You started with something so tangible, so concrete, and then moved to less so with the classroom changes, and then took it to a bigger place with the changes we could make in the world and our interactions within it. Beautiful that you noticed the change on your daily walk and then thought about and got us all thinking about the power of small changes within the world we live. Thank you for this.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Adrienne says:

    What a great post that highlights a small moment and leaves the reader with something to think about. Or write about. I;m now thinking about a slice about how sometimes I drive so automatically to work and then have to figure out where I am.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post, Rose! Small changes can be powerful in our world! Thanks for sharing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this too! It is amazing how a small change can change so much. This is great to read as I think about changes I want to make in my classroom in the coming days.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. arjeha says:

    I totally get your moment of realization that something has changed, Rose. Often when we travel a road we haven’t been on for a time something will strike us as being different, but we don’t exactly know what it is. Then the “aha” moment hits and we notice the small change that was made since our last trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. i agree with small change – they make all the difference!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jhaworthoy says:

    If we would each make the small change of smiling and saying a kind word to others, I wonder what kind of ripple it would create!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment