What a Difference a Day Makes

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

        We have experienced some unusually warm weather in eastern PA the past few weeks. Yesterday there were blue skies, gentle winds, and temperatures in the 60’s. I knew all that was about to change, so I visited my backyard flower beds to see what was going on and to snap a few pictures. About half of the daffodils were already blooming, along with the forsythia. I snipped a few blossoms so I could enjoy them indoors, and I’m glad I did. Today those daffodils are hunkered down, covered in wet snow.

                                  Daffodilsdaffodils snow

 

What a Difference a Day Makes

 

Daffodils burst forth,

promise new life,

gently nod their heads

in the wind.

 

Then a cruel reminder –

Old Man Winter has not yet left the building!

This entry was posted in Slices, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What a Difference a Day Makes

  1. lynnedorfman says:

    Yes, yesterday was a beauty! I should have clipped my daffies, too. I am going to have to knock the wet snow off the lelands midday. I thought I was done with this – almost put my boots away! Your photos say it all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. arjeha says:

    Our daffodils haven’t bloomed yet but the yellow is there. Today they are wearing coats of white.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ureadiread says:

    Thank you for that wry smile!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. JudyK says:

    I love your poem! It perfectly sums up what is going on here in Ohio, too. ~JudyK

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ritakenefic says:

    Your poem captures the essence of our weather. Had to drive grandkids to school this morning and my grandson brought me to the back window and said, “Look, Mimi.” At first, I didn’t know what he wanted me to see and then I spied the daffodils in bloom, sprinkled with the early morning snow. Bizarre!

    Like

  6. Amy Warntz says:

    Oh, those poor daffodils. I have a feeling mine are going to look like that come this Tuesday. The poem completely embraces what is about to happen! ~Amy

    Like

  7. Your poem is perfect! And more snow to come…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. dianeandlynne says:

    What a difference a day makes–so true. Next Tuesday the daffodils may be under even more stress. But they are hardy flowers. I love the poem, Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love the line – Old Man Winter has not yet left the building! I don’t associate humor with poetry — I love that you had beautiful language, powerful imagery and a good dose of humor!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment