In Honor of Amy

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

This is not the post I intended to write today, but I’ve been thinking a lot about Amy Krause Rosenthal since learning of her death yesterday. Back in 2008 I learned of a woman who posted a video listing 17 things she had made (Google “17 things I made” and you’ll find it). She then invited anyone and everyone to meet her at the Bean sculpture in Chicago on 8-8-08 at 8:08 to create an 18th thing together. Hundreds of people showed up. What a beautiful way to celebrate creativity and beauty in the world, I thought! The woman was Amy Krause Rosenthal, but I didn’t know much about her then. It was only later, when I was introduced to her books that her name began to stick in my head. And it was only a few days ago that I made the connection and realized the woman whose video mesmerized me so many years ago was the author I came to know through her books.

Amy celebrated creativity and urged others to remember that we all have a hand, large or small, in making this world what it is. She helped us honor our talents and our worth in ways we may not have considered. And since my OLW for 2017 is “create,” I sat down to list some things I have created in my lifetime. I chose to list 13, yesterday’s date, in honor of Amy. So here they are, in no particular order:

13 Things I Made

My wedding gown

A home

My talented and creative son, Brian

My wonderful daughter, Ann, who through her work helps students realize their worth and potential

Three professional books (with Lynne Dorfman) – Mentor Texts, Nonfiction Mentor Texts, Poetry Mentor Texts

The Keystone to Reading Elementary lists of books (with other committee members) to help teachers create a love of literature with their students

Someone laugh

A friendship of over 50 years with my childhood friend, Ginny

A legacy of love with Allan (we will celebrate our 40th anniversary in May)

The chili cooking away in the crockpot on this snowy day

The blueberry pie that will go into the oven later to celebrate Pi Day

A garden of peony bushes in my backyard

A welcome environment for bluebirds

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to In Honor of Amy

  1. Great tribute to Amy Krause Rosenthal! Love her books!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. elsie says:

    May those of us who loved Amy’s work continue to carry on her spirit. Perfect post for today Rose. (I celebrate my 40th anniversary in June.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. arjeha says:

    Amy’s legacy will live on. Love your list. Keep creating, Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dianeandlynne says:

    I’m sure you read her column in the NY Times “Modern Love” — it was such a beautiful tribute to her husband. Amy will be missed. I love what you wrote, Rose about what you’ve created. Happy 40th Anniversary to you and Alan and happy eating pie and chili.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. travelinma says:

    I just watched that video. It brought me to tears. It reminded me of what is possible in this world of ours. Happy almost Anniversary! My husband and I celebrated our 36th this fall.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ramona says:

    Beautiful tribute. I love your list poem. Thinking today of the impact Amy left on this world, “She helped us honor our talents and our worth in ways we may not have considered.” Thank you for this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tara Smith says:

    Just lovely, Rose – the perfect way to honor Amy.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh – this was a perfect tribute and so creative. I think she would have loved it — and I learned quite a bit about you. Interesting the insights you get from just hearing 13 things someone made.
    Clare

    Like

  9. Ms. Pesta says:

    Beautiful! Simple and perfect way to honor her.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Your post was a wonderful tribute to Amy and a recognition of all the wonderful “things” you have made. You certainly have made many contributions to your family and to our profession.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. lynnedorfman says:

    What a wonderful way to pay tribute to Amy! I loved reading your list of thirteen. It’s a great list! A 40th celebration in May with Allan – so wonderful!

    I am going to look for the video now and watch it. So glad I returned to look for your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. ritakenefic says:

    This was a beautiful post and a beautiful tribute, Rose. You have also made me inspired to write a similar list. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment