Early Morning Writing

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

I’m up early this morning. The house is quiet. In a few minutes my phone will buzz with a text message from my on-line writing critique group friends. We write together on Wednesday mornings at 6:30 for as much time as each of us can put in. We text what our plans are for the morning and at the end we say a few words on how it went. Sometimes there are questions. Always there is comradery.

I met these ladies a few years ago at a Highlights writing workshop and I spent another few days with them at a writing retreat some time later. It’s been only recently that I formally joined the group, and already I can see the benefits of talking and learning together. But it is this early morning writing time once a week that is comforting and also productive. There’s some accountability built in, but no hard and fast rules. It’s nice knowing that somewhere there is a friend maybe struggling to find the right word just as you are, or wondering how to better develop a character. And if you have a question, they are just a text message away.

I decided several years ago that I would get serious about writing for children. But it’s been only about a year that I’ve really jumped in with both feet to learn and write as much as I can. I had plenty of excuses, and sometimes I let other excuses, uncertainty, or fear hold me back. But here I am, having fun (but taking it seriously).

        Bzzzz…there’s my phone. Morning…

        …I’m finishing a blog post for Slice of Life, then tackling revisions. There’s snow

           already so I guess it will be a writing kind of day.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Early Morning Writing

  1. Sounds like a wonderful supportive group, Rosemary! I have learned that support for one’s writing is so important. All the best with your writing Children’s Books. It sounds like you are really enjoying it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dianeandlynne says:

    “I guess it will be a writing kind of day” I love it! Audience and routine and responsibility and comradery–all built in to your week. Happy writing, Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cvarsalona says:

    Rose, I think having a writing group with designated time each week is a great idea. Enjoy your writing kind of day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. arjeha says:

    The quiet of a snowy day is perfect for writing. I like the commitment to writing and the set time for gathering. Something to look forward to each week. Enjoy your writing day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. elsie says:

    A perfect plan for your day! I can’t wait to someday read a book by my friend Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lynnedorfman says:

    Great to have a trusted writing group. And the perfect plan for today. I am writing a chapter for both books I’m working on today and hope I can make some headway before we lose power! Dresher always loses power in storms such as this. Maybe I’ll get lucky. Enjoy your writing day!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. aileenhower says:

    What a great glimpse at some behind the scene happenings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment