Six Words

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

I didn’t do any prep work for slicing this year – jotting down ideas, rereading old slices, etc. I wanted to concentrate on finding those small moments from each day. So in the evening, sometimes as I’m trying to fall asleep, or in the early morning, I reflect on my day. Yesterday evening I was somewhat in a panic because there was nothing I wanted to write about! (I know, we’ve all been there.) But I got an idea after reading a few slices.

Kevin (Dogtrax) over at Kevin’s Meandering Mind is using the six word strategy to write his slices. I’ve noticed some other slicers trying it out also, so last night I decided to give it a try. Six words? Not a problem! Turns out it’s easier said than done. First of all, there’s deciding on a topic – signs of spring? shopping? trip preparation? Nothing was grabbing me. So I asked myself what has been the focus of most of my days recently, and I found my topic – physical therapy.

I’ve had over twenty physical therapy sessions in the past few months, and this morning I had a re-evaluation to see the progress and plan the next steps. But now I had to try to condense all of that into six words that would somehow capture the essence of my experiences or feelings. Again, easier said than done. Here is my attempt:

 

Physical therapy

Transformative

End in sight

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Six Words

  1. aileenhower says:

    Strength and determination
    Define your path

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carolmcbroom says:

    Thanks for the idea! I’m going to try one today too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I almost wrote about physical therapy last night! I just started it to try and strengthen muscles and loosen joints before hip replacement surgery. During my session this week, I set a record. My therapist said at the end (he is a nice guy, so it was ok)… “I’ve never heard a hip pop so many times!”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. arjeha says:

    I do like this idea. I have never tried this because I am not sure I can find the right six words to convey a thought or idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the six word strategy! I think you summed it up perfectly! Hope an end is in sight for you soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dianeandlynne says:

    Six words…I love how you shared your process. It’s hard to write small. Who was it who penned, “I’m sorry I’ve written such a long letter. I didn’t have time to write a short one,”?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. JudyK says:

    I think you captured the essence very well! Interesting strategy! 🙂 ~JudyK

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Clare Landrigan says:

    Love it! I like the six-word slice — it really makes you think. I think it is good for topic generation as well. Glad the end is in sight for you !!
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment