The Birds

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

There’s a lovely park behind our hotel where we walk Cyrus – lots of birds, fish, and places to sit and observe. It’s always fun to find birds that you don’t normally see at home. I noticed the usual swallows, gulls, and ducks, but also terns and an egret.

 

Then there was this fellow outside our restaurant last night.

Duck

 

It looked to me like a cross between a turkey and a duck, and I wondered if this was perhaps a living turducken, that Thanksgiving delicacy many people are fond of cooking. He was still there when we were leaving, this time accompanied by his mate who was actually a little aggressive. There was a dog dish of water nearby. Were these birds someone’s pets?

Later I identified the bird as a Muscovy Duck, fairly common in Florida. Some are feral and some are raised as pets. So yes, this pair might have been pets, but I still wondered why they were hanging out in a parking lot.

You never know what you might discover when you’re away from home.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Birds

  1. cvarsalona says:

    What a strange but interesting animal, Rose. Thanks for sharing that. Florida looks like the spot to be away from the cold weather this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. elsie says:

    You don’t think about the bird life being different from what’s at home but it is. I love spotting different birds. I had a friend from California visit and she was entranced by the robins and cardinals in our yard. She doesn’t have them.
    Hope you don’t experience an encounter with an alligator while in Florida.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dianeandlynne says:

    Turducken, hmmm. It does look like one. Nice to discover new, to us, wildlife. Thanks for the photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved how you shared your curiosity with us, as readers: “Were these birds someone’s pets?” and “I still wondered why they were hanging out in a parking lot.” I had never heard of turducken, either, so I picked up a new nugget of information to store away for later. Thanks for the warm slice! Baby, it sure is cold outside in MA this weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. arjeha says:

    It is interesting what you see when you travel. The at home usual is no longer the norm.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. onathought says:

    So true that you never know what differences you’ll find when you aren’t home! I’m always surprised at the differences.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Suzanne says:

    I think you really did find the inspiration for the first turducken!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. margaretsmn says:

    We have a lot of those black and white ducks here in south Louisiana. They are somewhat domesticated because they live where people live. Love your pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love seeing different wildlife when I travel, and I actually was in Clearwater this past summer. I have never heard of, or seen the Muscovy duck. Looks a lot like a turkey!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. aileenhower says:

    Seems like FL is full of life!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. bjdonaldson says:

    Interesting that these birds were hanging around the parking lot. I have never heard of this type of duck…I learned something. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Clare Landrigan says:

    Sounds amazing – as I am surrounded by 18 inches of snow I am very jealous!! I have seen that type of duck – thank you for informing me.
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Funny line: “I wondered if this was perhaps a living turducken…” There is a resemblance! Love the photos and the discoveries you’ve shared.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment