A Sliver of Hope

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

Did you notice the sky last night? We came out of the restaurant to a gorgeous almost-over sunset. As we started back to the hotel I looked up and noticed the sliver of moon with Venus in alignment.

“Stop! I need to grab a picture!” I yelled. Of course my picture does not do it justice, but the sight was mesmerizing. I watched it the whole way back.

Sky

There is something very special about the moon, and I have always been fascinated by it. If I were a better poet I may have been able to capture the loveliness I experienced last night a little better. But there was something about that sliver of moon with the planet beside it that filled me with hope and peace and compelled me to write.

a sliver of hope

celestial bodies show us

all things possible

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Sliver of Hope

  1. Isabelle went through a moon stage. She adored the book called Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me by Eric Carole. Have you read it? As a fellow moon fan, you’ll want to buy it for your grandson ASAP if you haven’t seen it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. arjeha says:

    Kathy and I both enjoy gazing at the night sky whenever we come home from a day out. We were both fascinated by the fact that when we were in Africa and Australia we experienced a full moon on two other continents. I do like the promise of hope in your poem, Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jehansen13 says:

    I love the haiku at the end of this slice…so fitting! The moon really was amazing yesterday!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very Stephen Hawking of you…look to the stars. Love the haiku.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. elsie says:

    Unfortunately we have heavy clouds with rain, so no moon for us. Loved your poem, hope is alive. Beautiful picture too!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful! Glad you got to capture the moment with your photograph and poem! Love your slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Clare Landrigan says:

    Gorgeous –love the poem as well.

    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Vickiela says:

    Beautiful picture. I loved the way you captured the night.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment