At the Movies

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

This morning at physical therapy I listened to four men trading lines from Seinfeld. At first I wasn’t sure what they were quoting, but then something gave it away. It was fascinating – one would say a line, they would all laugh, and then one of the other guys would come up with something else, and there was more laughter. This went on for quite a while. Finally one of them said that when you get a few people together that were fans of Seinfeld, there is always something to talk about.

That started me thinking about movies. In our house, there are probably more lines from movies rather than television shows quoted from time to time. Here are a few I came up with:

Walk this way.

Round up the usual suspects.

I’ve a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.

After all, tomorrow is another day.

I’ll be back (this line must be delivered as Arnold would say it).

We’ll always have Paris.

There’s no crying in baseball (insert any word which fits the situation, i.e. “There’s no crying on vacation.”)

Nobody puts Baby in a corner.

Did you get them all? It’s fun to think about the shared language that develops in families. I think it’s the same in classrooms.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to At the Movies

  1. I got Nobody puts Baby in a corner”! One of my favorite movies. I’m not good with movie or T.V. show lines. But agree about shared language in the classroom! Builds a community! Language is key!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. elsie says:

    Isn’t it funny how certain sentences/phrases stick with us over time? I’m no good at remembering Seinfeld phrases, except for “No soup for you!” We insert whatever is appropriate, such as “No cookie for you!”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that shared language that develops too! I have movie lines that I use frequently that only my mom can get, and it’s been fun to show those movies to my son and have him incorporate some of the lines too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The K says:

    I love quoting movies and TV. Probably too much. My little sister and I have some obscure lines that we quote to each other from movies or tv shows only we seem to have seen. Or Seinfeld lines that nobody else remembers, like “Between you and me, I think I got a foot odor problem.” Or about Junior Mints “They’re very refreshing”. I often say lines to people when they fit a situation, and never tell them they’re from movies or TV – just to entertain myself!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. arjeha says:

    And let’s not forget, “You can’t handle the truth.” Speaking of putting baby on the corner, we have tickets to go see Dirty Dancing at the Hershey Theatre tomorrow. Sometimes it just takes one person to speak a line and a conversation has begun.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Margaret DeAngelis says:

    “Leave the gun, take the cannoli.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is a fun post! I might be inspired to try it. It made me smile! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment