April Snow

Since it’s April, I decided to try writing my April slices as poems. I woke yesterday, the second day of April, the day after Easter…to snow. Although there was something magical and beautiful about watching those fat flakes fall, I’m ready for winter to be over.

I always get inspiration from Amy Ludwig Vanderwater at The Poem Farm. Her theme for April is the constellation Orion, and yesterday she wrote a terrific list poem, so I decided to try a list poem about the snow. I tried to capture my conflicted feelings but also create a picture in words and phrases.

April Snow

wet

silent

a chilly tree branch blanket

making daffodils droop

cheating spring

beautiful

Later in the day I purchased twenty small daffodils. Come on, spring!

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to April Snow

  1. franmcveigh says:

    Rose, I love that your poem led you to purchase daffodils – a sure sign of spring. We have a winter storm warning ALL day . . . so it’s not over YET!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lynnedorfman says:

    I almost wrote a poem today as well. I love this one – particularly the line about cheating spring. My daffodils have survived the snows and are all in bloom. I am inspired to write a poem….and to buy more daffodils!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. arjeha says:

    There is hope in seeing those yellow heads peering through a blanket of snow. But, yes, it is time for Spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. elsie says:

    Yes, the snow might be beautiful, but enough is enough! At least you have bought some sunshine to bloom in the house.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dianeandlynne says:

    “A chilly tree branch blanket” I love that image. Fortunately it’s gone today!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You captured your conflicting feelings perfectly! So ready for Spring! Glad the snow is gone and didn’t last long!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Clare Landrigan says:

    I hear you — I wish you could see my home. I literally have 8 vases of daffodils throughout the house – and it is a small house!! Can’t wait until Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment