In Celebration of Trees

Our focus in the Children’s Garden at Longwood this spring is trees. So since I’ve been learning a little more about them, I decided to write my poem for today about trees. I used the scaffold Elaine Magliano uses in her book Things to Do. Perhaps I’ll inspire you to hug a tree today.

 

Things to Do If You Are a Tree

Stand tall and proud, reaching to the sky.

Let your roots spread deep and wide, anchoring your heart.

Provide shelter for birds and squirrels and other living things.

Use your crown to offer shade on hot summer days.

Grow a new ring for each year of your life.

Be a source of life-sustaining oxygen.

Allow children to climb and swing and build forts in your arms.

Remain an important part of the forest community, even after death.

pexels-photo-1006141.jpeg

This entry was posted in Poems, Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Celebration of Trees

  1. arjeha says:

    When I was still teaching one of the things I would have my students do was pretend that they were a tree growing in the same spot for one hundred years and then tell about the changes they have seen. Trees would have some interesting stories to tell.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dianeandlynne says:

    All the things we love about nature are in this poem. Love the photo too. Longwood is inspirational, Rose, and your poem is also inspirational. Thanks for the uplift today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. terierrol says:

    I love your poem. This is a great idea to try. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mandyrobek says:

    I so enjoyed thinking about a tree having a heart. Your poem captures the essence of trees and all they can be and do. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment