The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Slice of Life2

I love the Memorial Day weekend. Besides being a time to honor all who have fought for our country, it is also the unofficial start to summer. I got married on a Memorial Day weekend, and my son was born three years and a few days later. So there is always much to celebrate here at this special time of year. This year was no different… sort of.

The Good – Allan and I traveled to Brooklyn to see my son and daughter-in-law and to spend time with our five month old grandson. We got him all to ourselves when the kids went out for some time alone. We loved every minute and hated to leave! We also celebrated our forty-first wedding anniversary by going to a movie. We had to pick a dark place for reasons you will learn later.

The Bad – I had some minor surgery just before the weekend to remove some basal cells from my forehead. Not a big deal, really, and everything is fine. One of the last things the doctor said to me was, “Now you may have a black eye from this…” which led to…

The Ugly – It started Friday night and progressed through Saturday. And yes, it’s a doozy. Lovely shades of purple and pink and red with a slight tinge of yellow surround my left eye. There is swelling underneath the eye where everything seems to be draining. Makeup helps some, but I wear dark glasses when I go out. Of course, I am convinced that everyone is staring at me. But they are probably just trying to figure out why someone is wearing dark glasses on an overcast day, let alone inside!

But despite all of that, it was a good start to summer. We celebrated with ice cream!

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

  1. arjeha says:

    Let’s face it, Rose. People are trying to figure out who the celebrity behind the dark glasses is. 🙂 Glad you had a good trip and got some time with your grandson.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. elsie says:

    Time with the baby is the best use of time! Of course ice cream is just the perfect antidote to your situation with your eye. Hope you heal soon and celebrate with more ice cream. Happy Anniversary!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Clare Landrigan says:

    Oh… I hope you feel better soon. This line: “Of course, I am convinced that everyone is staring at me.” rings true in so many situations. Such important life lessons to think about — no one really cares as much as we do in the end. I went to see a dear friend’s son graduate from high school. It was lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ramona says:

    Time with your son and dil – wonderful way to kick off the holiday and then time alone with your grandson has to be the icing on the cake. Much for you to celebrate this weekend. And now wishes for quick healing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mukhamani says:

    A lovely way to celebrate, with icecream 🙂 grandchildren are a joy 🙂 Everything they do is special.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment