Progress

Slice of Life2

What do you do when the baby things aren’t needed anymore, when the toddler toys are outgrown, when the sports equipment is no longer being used? Like us, you probably have a garage sale or pass them on to family members. But there are those special items that stay in the attic, waiting for grandchildren…maybe.

What we have been learning in the past few months with our grandson is that many of the treasures we saved and hoped to pass along are not up to today’s safety standards. First up was the wooden cradle handmade by my father-in-law. Both of my newborns spent many happy sleeping hours snuggled in that cradle. A few months before my grandson, Alex, was born I brought it down from the attic and purchased a new mattress. My son suggested that we keep it at our house because, well, who has room for a wooden cradle in a NYC apartment? But it was more than that – it just wasn’t up to code anymore, so it was doubtful that the baby would ever use it for sleeping.  It now sits in our living room and has become more of a decorative item – used to store books and toys.

This past weekend we got down the large plastic Duplo blocks we had been saving. I washed them in warm soapy water and spread them out on Alex’s blanket. But they didn’t go back to New York with Alex when he left. I learned (from Alex’s parents) that the plastic used to make toys in the 70’s and 80’s can be toxic to children. Better to buy new than risk a serious problem. Guess we will have to dispose of the action figures and transformer cars taking up space in the attic, too.

But the old wooden high chair is OK and the wooden blocks are fine. Apparently wood is an acceptable material for heirloom items.

Progress, especially in the area of safety, is important. I remember my parents marveling at disposable diapers and infant car seats and now I understand. We can say our kids did fine with or without those things, but think of how much better and safer things are today. And there are always books that never seem to go out of style (we have lots of old and new favorites). Maybe we’ll just stick with those.

 

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Progress

  1. My parents so badly wanted to use the cradle they made for me in a woodshop class in the 70’s when Isabelle arrived. Unfortunately, it didn’t meet safety standards and I said no too. The had saved it for many years. {Sigh.}

    At least the wooden blocks are being passed on!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohhhh… you just gave me permission to give my attic an overhaul! Wood — I am guessing board games, puzzles and dress up are also ok?? I need to see a picture!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. arjeha says:

    It is important to be safety conscious. However, many of us grew up playing with and using the things you have saved and I think we all turned out OK. I remember all of the tin toys I had as a child. Not safe by today’s standards but fun to play with back then.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment