Flower Power

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

The Philadelphia Flower Show is the nation’s largest and longest-running event of its kind. It began in 1829 by the Philadelphia Horticultural Society. Every year there are a variety of garden displays, demonstrations, competitions, and vendors.

I hadn’t been to the show in several years, but yesterday I had the opportunity to attend. The theme this year is “Flower Power.” The displays explore the range of emotions and messages that flowers can convey. I wasn’t really expecting to see so many references to the “flower power” of the 60’s, but peace signs, old VW buses, flower headbands and jewelry, and tie-dye themes were on full display- perfect for a 60’s girl like me. My friend and I spent several hours delighting our senses as we explored the convention hall to music like “Let the Sunshine In.”

All of the displays, of course, were beautiful, but I was particularly drawn to those with a recycling theme. I so admire people who can make something from nothing. Yesterday I saw gardens growing in old cut up tires and blooms peeking out of the tops of cement blocks. Old film canisters and reels were spray painted and used to create wind chimes and other garden décor.

Now I can’t wait to get out in my garden!

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flower Power

  1. arjeha says:

    Sounds like a great day, Rose. I saw on GMA yesterday (?) that Ginger Zee was live at the show. I have never been to it. I know Kathy would enjoy it. Maybe some year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lisa Keeler says:

    So fun. Glad you wrote about this. It brought back fun memories- I went many years ago with my mom. What a great theme. Gardeners are so creative.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Terje says:

    This sounds wonderful and beautiful. “Flower power” is an interesting title for the show. In Tallinn there is an outdoor flower festival where the creativity of gardeners is always impressive.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I never been to the Philadelphia Flower Show. What a fun theme! I love your pictures! Maybe I will get there one day!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such fun … you inspired to check the dates on Boston’s flower show. My mother in law would love it

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Adrienne says:

    It has been ages since I’ve been to any kind of flower show. I am going to keep my eyes peeled for opportunities like the one you have described. The flower power theme seems especially fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment