OrKid Days

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

We interrupt this gray and white winter to bring you a splash of color and warmth!

Longwood Gardens holds an Orchid Extravaganza every year from January to March. There are three OrKid Days as part of the celebration where families can enjoy art activities, storytelling, investigate the patterns and colors of orchids, and delight in wonder and fun. Yesterday, at the last OrKid Day for this season, I was delighted to conduct my favorite activity – storytelling.

The book was Fantastic Flowers. In it, author and illustrator Susan Stockdale takes a look at some unusual looking flowers. She imagines them as a ballerina, a baboon, an ice cream cone, and many more. The kids enjoyed looking at the book, but the real attraction were the puppets that one of our volunteers made to accompany the story. Puppets never fail to draw in even the most reluctant listener. Yesterday, one little girl entered the space with her head down, clutching her mom’s hand, content to partially hide herself behind mom. They sat down and I invited her to come closer so she could see. Immediately she gave me that “I’m-fine-here-on-mom’s-lap” look. Fair enough. As some of the other children started finding the puppets that went with the different spreads in the book, I saw her inching closer. It wasn’t long before she was right in the mix, delighting in matching puppets to picture and laughing at the unusual flower names.

Here is a picture from yesterday and a few others of the orchids at Longwood. I wish I could take credit for those, but they were snapped by Longwood’s volunteer photographers.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to OrKid Days

  1. You have to take me to this place … I have heard so much about it. Love this line – such voice in your writing: Immediately she gave me that “I’m-fine-here-on-mom’s-lap” look. Fair enough.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How lovely, what a lovely day and what a picture you paint! Imagine including storytelling in the whole flower mix, delightful! I love orchids!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. arjeha says:

    We haven’t been back to Longwood Gardens for a few years and Kathy and I are ready for a trip. We went to see the orchids and we would love to go during another season. Love how this little girl slowly inched her way into the fun and joy of the story. Great pictures, Rose. They capture the beauty of what is there.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dianeandlynne says:

    Last summer I took my grandsons to the children’s garden and they had a marvelous time. I wished they lived close enough for a more regular attendance. You guys do such a good job with the activities. Your description of the little girl slowly becoming part of the scene put me right there and showed how inviting the activity was. Good Job!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cvarsalona says:

    I love Longwood Gardens, Rose. Your storytelling day sounds like lots of fun. I am admiring the flowers and do so wish I had some fresh ones in my home to ward away the greyness of the day.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ramona says:

    Storytelling and flowers – that’s a dynamic duo – and then by adding puppets, you have terrific triplets. This sounds like an incredible event.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. WOWilkinson says:

    Thanks for sharing. I’d love to use that book as a writing challenge for my students.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. One of these days I want to get to Longwood Gardens (I live in DC, so not too far). There is something so special about reading a story to kids – with puppets, even better. I can see the shy little girl slowly getting wrapped up in the fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sounds like such a fun day! Beautiful orchids, kids gathered around for a story, and puppets. What else could you ask for? You portray the storytelling perfectly!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Christine says:

    Your slice captured the storytelling event with such detail – I wish I could have been there to see and hear it all.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lisa Keeler says:

    Oh wow- how lucky for you to get to be part of that place. I visited last summer with my mom and just loved it. I love that the little girl came forward and got involved with the story- your writing helps me picture that so clearly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment