Did Time Stop?

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

 

It stands like a sentinel at the bottom of the stairs, keeping watch, keeping time, keeping our lives on track. We have come to set the rhythms of our lives by the chiming of the bells. Fifteen minute intervals that mimic the Westminster Quarters from Big Ben. Dependable. Steadfast. Comforting.

The other night my sleep was interrupted. Was it the change caused by the switch to Daylight Saving Time? I watched as the clock jumped from 1:59 to 3:00. I imagined an hour of time lost in space, swirling through the stars looking for a home, a purpose. But there was something else that wasn’t right.

I checked for Allan…quietly snoring beside me.

I checked for Cyrus…stretched by the side of the bed.

Years ago I would have checked on the kids…tonight I could only hold them in my thoughts.

Then it came to me…the clock wasn’t chiming. Had time stopped? Had I entered into a time warp? Was I time traveling?

Before long I was able to quiet my thoughts and return to sleep…sort of.

Ahhh…I just heard the Second Quarter Chimes. Time has returned.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Did Time Stop?

  1. arjeha says:

    It is amazing ho the sounds around us don’t bother us. But when one of those sounds is missing it puts on on edge. Glad the sounds have returned, Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Trina Haase says:

    I love the opening description in this slice. So rich!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Terje says:

    My favorite sentence: “I imagined an hour of time lost in space, swirling through the stars looking for a home, a purpose.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your inner thoughts when you woke in the night … I’m jealous you fell back asleep- my mind starts racing and then I ‘m wide awake!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment