As Luck Would Have It

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

When I began my term as president of the Keystone State Literacy Association, I received a gift from a friend who also happened to be the outgoing president – an Alex and Ani bracelet with a four leaf clover charm.

Bracelet

 

“For luck during your presidency,” he said. “Although I doubt you’ll need it.”

I know what he meant. I had spent time preparing for my role, learning all I could about the organization and its history, thinking about the future and the role I would have in leading us down that path. I was confident I could handle it.  Although I believe we can’t just wait for life to happen and need to create our own journey and find our own opportunities, there might also be a little bit of luck involved. We are lucky when we find the right people to surround us in life, the right mentors to show us the way, and the right opportunities that come along at precisely the right time. We just have to have the courage to act.

I wore that bracelet at every board meeting and KSLA function that year…just for luck. And I continue to wear it at every KSLA event I attend. It reminds me of the luck I’ve had in meeting all the special people in my life, including friends and family, and the responsibility I have to them in laying the groundwork for that little bit of Irish luck.

Thanks, Michael!

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to As Luck Would Have It

  1. paulabourque says:

    I love the quote from the Roman philosopher Seneca, “Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity.” I think your luck has much to do with the hard work you’ve put into everything you do and realizing that you ” can’t just wait for life to happen and need to create our own journey”. I feel “LUCKY” to know you and learn alongside you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Perfect post for today. Sometimes I think lucky charms bring out the confidence within ourselves all along. Happy slicing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dianeandlynne says:

    I treasure the friendships I’ve made with outstanding educators like you, Rose. Luck is not given, it is made..the result of hard work, something you are not afraid of! Love the bracelet.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. astarowicz says:

    This is the perfect post for St. Patrick’s Day – connecting the holiday with reading.:) It doesn’t sound like any luck was needed as you took your new role, but it sure is nice to have a memento to remind you of the start of your journey. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lynnedorfman says:

    Hi, Rosie. We make our own luck by our actions and words. Your hard work and wise words bring people together to create new possibilities. Michael’s gift was lovely. KSLA is lucky to have you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a thoughtful gift. You certainly sound as if you were prepared for your role; but as a former president of a local chapter, there is still some lucky breaks needed to balance all the components of the job!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. greenelit says:

    I don’t think you needed the luck, but it’s nice to have something to give you strength. KSLA is so lucky to have you!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. BeReal81 says:

    I love your bracelet and the thoughts that go with it. Isn’t it amazing that something like a bracelet can give us more confidence and poise? A very thoughtful gift and a great slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. arjeha says:

    I agree with so many others, Rose. Luck is what we make it. Hard work and planning equals good results. Having said that, I carry around my own good Luck charm just in case.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment