Dr. Ned

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

Yesterday I did something to my back…again. Something that aggravated a recurring problem.

Today I visited my chiropractor.

 

Dr. Ned is something of a legend. I know many people, including my daughter, who swear by his ability to cure all your physical ills. I remember the time a co-worker basically couldn’t move from the floor in her office. That day, Dr. Ned came to the school. After a little while, probably less than a half hour, she was up and walking.

Amazing? Maybe.

Hard to believe? Almost certainly.

 

You might say Dr. Ned is quirky and perhaps a little unorthodox. He loves to talk and has definite opinions on many subjects, from nutrition to politics. He deals on a cash only basis, preferring not to deal with insurance companies. He doesn’t consult x-rays or even ask his patients to put on a hospital gown. He will watch you as you raise your arms and hands and head and place them in different positions. And he will know what to do. It’s almost like you can’t believe he’s legitimate, except that after a treatment (and it usually only takes one treatment), you feel better.

Amazing? Maybe.

Hard to believe? Almost certainly.

 

Today I visited my chiropractor.

Tomorrow I should be back to normal.

 

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dr. Ned

  1. arjeha says:

    He sounds like a doctor everyone would like to have. One who listens, watches, and knows what to do. Hope you are back to normal, Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dianeandlynne says:

    Well, then, I have to meet Dr. Ned!
    I love the structure of this piece, Rose..the repetition, the mysterious Dr.
    You feel better already?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pia Alliende says:

    Well, Rose, I visited my chiropractor today also and I feel much better too! I hope your back is behaving.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alice Nine says:

    I know a chiropractor like Dr. Ned. He is amazing. I like the form you used–mixing prose and poetry, held together with repetition.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fingers crossed for you-you did a great job at developing him as a character.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment