In Sadness

Slice of Life2

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge. Thanks to the co-authors of              Two Writing Teachers for creating this  supportive community.

I didn’t plan to write about this today. But as I sat at my computer searching for a slice, my thoughts kept returning to our backyard neighbors. That’s when I knew I had to write about it. You see, I spent a good part of the morning at the funeral of their son.

I spent a lot of time this week looking at their house…remembering.

Although they were a little younger, our kids played together. Their yard was the access to the development behind us where our kids would ride bikes, meet up with friends, and go sledding.

I spent a lot of time this week looking at their house…wondering.

They say no one should ever have to bury a child, and I know it’s true. How could it be possible to say goodbye to someone you gave life to? To let go all too soon?

I spent a lot of time this week looking at their house…praying.

When we got to the church, the line to pay respects to the family was already down the block. We gave quick hugs to several friends as we took our place at the end of the line, which continued to grow. Friends of the young man, friends of his siblings, friends of the parents. All waiting to express sorrow and disbelief. All wanting to let them know that someone cared.

I spent a lot of time this week… thinking about life.

 

 

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to In Sadness

  1. carwilc says:

    So sorry for your loss! I can’t even imagine….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dianeandlynne says:

    Oh, how sad for everyone, especially the parents, of course. I could feel your pain in your writing; spending the time thinking, wondering, praying, and thinking. Sending thoughts to you, Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Alice Nine says:

    Such poignant writing, Rose, a beautiful tribute to neighborhood friendship in a time of sorrow. I’m so sorry for your loss and my heart is sad for the young man’s family. May all be blessed with much comfort at this difficult time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t even imagine. I love the repetition you used and how you weave between past, present and future. Important message for all of us. Sending hugs your way.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dianelisa2 says:

    You wrote a beautiful, touching piece about grief. My condolences for your loss!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am so sad reading about the loss of your neighbors’ son. How devestating for them to lose their child. No one should have to know that kind of grief.
    It is my hope that the days ahead get easier for all of you. Though they’ll never be easy since loss has a funny way of hanging on and gnawing at the soul.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m so sorry for your loss! So sad for your neighbors. Beautiful piece you wrote about your grief.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. franmcveigh says:

    Rose,
    Thinking of you and your neighbors. Loss so early is rough. May your memories and your writing bring comfort.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ramona says:

    Oh, I cannot even begin to understand the sadness they feel. And the burden carried by all who know the family. I do believe there’s a power that comes from carrying one another’s burdens and mourning with those who mourn. Your words and thoughts are evidence of that work.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. arjeha says:

    Loss is never easy. It makes us wonder someone was taken from us. It also makes us realize how fragile life is and how we should make the best of each day we are given because we never know. Thoughts are with you and your neighbors, Rose.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. mandyrobek says:

    Thank you for reminding us two important points – writing helps and I enjoyed your narrative woven with repetitive phrases about your thinking this week. Our mind takes us to many places as we wrestle with sad tidbits. I hope you write more your own processing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment