Poetry Friday: The Wren

A family of wrens is nesting inside our garage on top of some exposed insulation. We are learning to share space, but sometimes there are little surprises – like last week when the surprise of an open door became an adventure.

The Wren

An open door,
an invitation.
But this is not home,
This is not where she belongs.
My cupped hands
scoop her warm body,
feel the flutter,
like holding a miracle.
Together we make our way
back to the open door.
Hands unfold,
a moment’s pause that says so much,
then home.

Mary Lee has today’s roundup here. Visit to learn about the poet Marilyn Chin and read some great poetry.

This entry was posted in Poetry Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poetry Friday: The Wren

  1. maryleehahn says:

    What a sweet moment! I’m glad you were able to rescue and release her!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Leigh Anne Eck says:

    I love the line “like holding a miracle.” I am sure in that moment’s pause she was thanking you for showing her the way back home.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. janicescully says:

    I had a similar experience when I found a live bird totally immobile on my basement floor. I thought it was dead but when we took it outside it flew away! I enjoyed your poem. It’s an experience worth writing about.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. An experience you will remember! It is like holding a miracle… kind of like “hope is the thing with feathers.” Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment