Positive Thinking

Lately, it seems, I wake to a daily dose of continued bad news, concerns, and worries. So this morning I challenged myself to record five positive outcomes from living in today’s pandemic world.

  • A renewed appreciation for the beauty found in nature. Is it my imagination, or have colors been more vibrant, blooms more full this spring and summer? Was it just coincidence that I stopped what I was doing to watch the hummingbird for the full time she visited the feeder, then waited for her return?
  • A feeling of interconnectedness. Somehow it’s comforting to know that we are not alone, that the whole world is experiencing this enemy. And although so many, many people are suffering, we can take comfort in knowing that many are also finding ways to reinvent things in order to survive. Let us learn together.
  • Call to action. There are so many who are working tirelessly for the greater good, but every small act contributes.
  • Deepening sense of responsibility to a larger community. I know in the past months I have reached out and touched base with many friends I hadn’t connected with in some time.
  • Creative thinking. Now, more than ever, we need to look for new ways to think outside the box.

Many of the above are related since one idea naturally led to another. But somehow, delaying the morning news and starting the day on a positive note made a difference for me today. Now I think I’ll go see if that hummingbird invited some friends.

This entry was posted in Slices. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Positive Thinking

  1. NPR had a piece on “doomscrolling” this week. I find I engage in a lot of that. After listening to it, I have tried to make myself more aware of when I am engaged in doomscrolling so I get off of Twitter and focus on something else that doesn’t leave me with an impending sense of dread.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ramona says:

    Love that you actually watched your hummingbird for the full time at the feeder. It’s a good time for slowing down and savoring the moment. I’ve been sitting on the porch in the rocking chair after my walks. Now to do it without my phone in hand!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Terje says:

    Gratitude helps to build resilience. You have a good list. The nature has been wonderful in helping to stay sane and positive. I think we see the beauty better because we actually take time to notice even the subtle changes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. arjeha says:

    I agree with you, Rose. I think the flowers have been exceptional this year. It is so easy to get caught up in all the bad that is happening. I have limited myself to a half hour of local news and a half hour of world news. I don’t need it want to be constantly bombarded be the same continuous bloom and doom.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. margaretsmn says:

    I love all of your ideas for positivity. I’ve had my ups and downs. Reading poetry and focusing on nature are helping me.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. alanjwriting says:

    A strong list of self talk goals there Rose. All tied up with a great ending, as you you launched into the day. We all need to shake off the constancy of doom and drudgery. More power to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment