Poetry Friday: Inspiration

The Poetry Friday roundup is here! I am so grateful to this community of supportive poets. At first, I was an infrequent participant, although I stopped by often to read and respond. I learned a lot, and eventually jumped in with my own poems. Thank you all! Today marks my first try at hosting.

I’ve been playing around with using book titles as inspiration for poems. Last week I reread Lee Bennett Hopkins’ anthology Night Wishes illustrated by Jen Corace (Eerdmans, 2020).

Night Wishes is a delightful collection of wishes whispered from objects in a child’s bedroom at night. As an added plus, it features many Poetry Friday regulars —Matt Forest Esenwine, Irene Latham, Renee LaTulippe, along with favorites Rebecca Kai Dotlich, Eileen Spinelli, Joyce Sidman, Nikki Grimes, and more. I offer this post as a tribute to the many poets I’ve learned from through the years.

What Does the Night Wish For?

a star filled sky,
the moon hovering high,
a whistle of wind through the trees

a peaceful refrain
from the whippoorwill’s call,
a kiss from the sun in the morning
Draft, 2022 Rose Cappelli

Looking forward to reading everyone’s poems! Please add your link here:

This entry was posted in Poems, Poetry Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Poetry Friday: Inspiration

  1. Thanks so much for hosting, Rose – and welcome to the ranks of rounder-uppers! Your poem is beautiful, a creative take on this lovely book title. I especially love “a whistle of wind through the trees” – ahhh.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda Mitchell says:

    Oh, I see “star filled sky.” Just you wait until you see Margaret Ong’s visual poetry with star themes. You will LOVE it! Thanks for hosting. I do love a good LBH anthology! Thanks for featuring Night Wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jama says:

    Lovely poem, Rose. Esp. love the final line!! Thanks for reminding me to reread Night Wishes :), and thanks for hosting this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Courage – A(nother) Year of Reading

  5. maryleehahn says:

    Thanks for hosting, Rose. I love how you used the book title for inspiration! Fireflies are the only other thing the night might wish for.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosecappelli says:

      Absolutely! I wanted to add a middle stanza but my brain wasn’t working well this morning. I will definitely go back to it and add something about fireflies. Thanks for the suggestion.

      Like

  6. Lovely poem, Rose! Thanks for sharing – I’m so glad you enjoyed the book so much that it was so inspirational for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Celebrating May 13th with birthday poet Kathleen Jamie – and a “double” picture book winner! – Radio, Rhythm & Rhyme

  8. Pingback: Poetry Friday: So Much Depends… – Reading to the Core

  9. Oh my, Rose! You channelled the night with such grace! Beautiful imagery, and I love the idea of the night awaiting a kiss from the sun. Thank you for hosting!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sally Murphy says:

    I love this writing prompt, Rose – and the poem that came out of the title for you. I especially love “a kiss from the sun in the morning”. Thanks for hosting today!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lovely idea to ask night what it wishes for–and I too like “a kiss from the sun in the morning,” such a nice way to wake! And thanks for hosting us this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Bridget Magee says:

    Thank you for hosting, Rose, and for being a poet we all can learn from too! Love that you incorporated “whippoorwill” into your dreamy poem 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thank you for hosting today, Rose. Your poem captures the magic of the night sky beautifully! And I love your idea of using book titles to inspire new poems.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Pingback: love me some Joe Brainard | Jama's Alphabet Soup

  15. amyludwigvanderwater says:

    Using book titles as inspiration is such a fabulous idea…I want to try this with students! And your gentle, perceptive list poem is simply lovely. It feels almost like a lullaby…and that morning sun kiss is perfection! Thank you for hosting! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Yay! I love your prompt this week for the Nevermores. It’s been a busy week, so I’m going to be writing my book title poem at the 11th hour tomorrow. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Pingback: Poetry Friday: Poems Hide | Reflections on the Teche

  18. Tabatha says:

    What a great idea to wonder what the night wishes for! I’m going to think about that … Maybe I could write one about some other time of day 🙂 Thanks for rounding us up!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. margaretsmn says:

    I love this deeper wisdom poem. The whippoorwill’s call is a sound from my childhood. Thanks for hosting.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. haitiruth says:

    Thank you for hosting! I posted mine on the Mister Linky and now it doesn’t seem to be showing up. Here it is: https://thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com/2022/05/poetry-friday-ada-limon.html

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Thanks for hosting, Rose! I love the feeling in these lines: “a peaceful refrain/ from the whippoorwill’s call,”

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Rose, thank you for hosting! I hope you enjoy it! I hosted for the first time in the last half of 2021. I really enjoyed it – somehow I missed the call this time around. Anyway, I love the poem you shared. Finding inspiration through wishes from objects in a child’s room is such a creative idea! I will have to seek this book out! Thanks for sharing! ~ Carol ~

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I love your poem! The last stanza really sang to me… thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Linda KulpTrout says:

    Your poem is lovely! I haven’t read Night Wishes yet. I’m putting it on my TBR list.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Rose, thanks for hosting. I really like how you formatted this poem from a title from our beloved Lee. The ending sentence is thoughtful and filled with an amazing visual. if you rewrite the poem, you should keep that line in.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. heidimordhorst says:

    There couldn’t be a more inspiring, open-ended title than NIGHT WISHES, I reckon! I like the brevity of your stanzas. Here’s my such poem from PUMPKIN BUTTERFLY, for your amusement, also influenced by some small exchanges with Lee BH. Thanks for hosting, Rose! https://myjuicylittleuniverse.blogspot.com/2020/04/npm2020-poetry-videos-day-13-night-luck.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment